Better late than never....haha...ha...ha...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Wakayama
October 17th 2007
Published: October 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

the first meal...the first meal...the first meal...

My first meal in Japan was...uneventful...and fried as you can see. We just stopped for some quick food at a small udon shop- yum yum!
Sooooo...I know I have been here for over two months and haven't yet even looked at this site or even thought about uploading pics...but better late than never right? I guess I have my work cut out for me...adding two months worth of photos and entries about Japan (and Mexico if I have time...). I guess to start off, here's an abridged version of the last two and a half months...

August 5-7: Tokyo!

After a tearful farewell at SFO (thanks for the wonderful send off everyone!) and a 10 hour plane ride, we (us group B JETs, including friends Katie, Chris J, Ryuta and Laura M.) arrived at Narita International airport about 1 and a half hours outside of Tokyo. Orientation was uneventful I suppose, a lot of blah blah blah about blah blah blah and expect blah blah blah...I mean it was intended to be informative and the like, but it's hard to sit still and pay attention when:

a. you're staying in a plush hotel like the Keio Plaza Hotel, which by the way has a sky pool on the 7th floor
b. you're located in the heart of Tokyo in Shinjuki
c. you're JET
CombiniCombiniCombini

So this is Chris and Katie on our first trip to the combini, convenience stores located everywhere in Japan that NEVER CLOSE!
lagged and disoriented
d. you're surrounded by about 1,000 other people from all over the world who are all in your age range
e. it's the middle of summer in Tokyo, which means it's about a hundred degrees out, humid and you are wearing a suit...
f. you're finally coming face to face with the penn pal that you've been corresponding with for the last two months

Sooooo basically Tokyo was a blur. Highlights were going to the pool, exploring the city at night, hanging out with old friends, making new friends and meeting the other Wakayama JETs, having an awesome roommate for a couple of days and meeting and hanging out with my soon to be neighbor.

August 8-9: Kinokawa

After the orientation, we we flew to Kansai Airport where we were met and driven home by Suzuki Sensei, our supervisor, Inui Sensei, his trusty sidekick (who is apparently very popular with the ladies) and Noel, a 4th year JET from Kinokawa, originally from the UK. These couple of days were spent getting settled into our apartments, filling out paperwork and setting up bank accounts and registering and whatnot, acclimating to the horrible heat
Tokyo Orientation- day 1Tokyo Orientation- day 1Tokyo Orientation- day 1

Look at all the gaijin (foreigners!)!...yup, the main ballroom at the Keio Plaza Hotel, filled with nearly 1,000 JETs, just flown in from across the globe...
and humidity, and exploring the town and visiting our schools.

Lucky for us, Kinokawa is very beautiful and is an agricultural hub in Japan...the Kinokawa river flows through the town and in it, you can catch a type of fish called aiyu, which is supposed to be known for it's sweet flavor. It's beauty is only marred by the undeniable fact that we are in the inaka or countryside...for reals. I mean usually it is very peaceful, serene and beautiful....but you can only ooooh and awww at the pretty river and surrounding mountains and farmland so much, you know? Things shut down here around 5 or 6pm...while there is NO nightlife for young people in my town whatsoever, the stars are very beautiful here in the night sky.

Welllllllllllllllll, that's all I have the energy for now...sigh...this is going to take forever...


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

out and about in tokyo out and about in tokyo
out and about in tokyo

Our second night, all of the Wakayama JETs for group B (haha, all 7 of us), went out to explore Tokyo and found this weird glowing box thing...ooooooooooooooh....
Tokyo by nightTokyo by night
Tokyo by night

Here it is, Tokyo, bright lights and everything- just like in the movies!
Karaoke!Karaoke!
Karaoke!

My first Japan Karaoke experience with my fellow Wakawaka JETs!
The Tokyo skylineThe Tokyo skyline
The Tokyo skyline

A view of the city from the top of the Keio.
the apartment- my kitchenthe apartment- my kitchen
the apartment- my kitchen

I love my apartment- it is the perfect size for one person and it is clean and cozy. Here is my kitchen!
my apartment: the living roommy apartment: the living room
my apartment: the living room

the living room- a traditional tatami mat room with tons of storage space in the closets...the only airconditioned room in the house, so since this picture, taken on my first day in Kinokawa, I have moved my desk in and rearranged furniture so I can basically never have to leave this room...
my bedroommy bedroom
my bedroom

yup...here it is...my bed in nice and comfy, but in the summer it was so hot that I never slept here...I just pulled a futon into the nice air-conditioned living room and basically used my room only to house my clothes...
my neighbormy neighbor
my neighbor

My neighbor, literally steps from my apartment building, is Nate Hospital (Nate Byouin).
the townthe town
the town

I am in Kinokawashi, which is a merger of 5 towns...I am located in the section formerly known as the town of Nagacho...they still refer to it that way, my particular neighborhood is Nateichiba...here's a typical street just to give you and idea of how most towns out here look more or less.
little graveyard for little spiritslittle graveyard for little spirits
little graveyard for little spirits

All over the place there are little graveyards, in particular you'll come across ones like these that have little stone statues of children figures. They are for those who died before their parents, aborted children, miscarriages and stillborn infants.
rice fields....rice fields....
rice fields....

are literally everywhere. The squeeze them in wherever there is space, even between and around buildings. When we arrived the rice was young and bright green and beautiful.
mikanmikan
mikan

One of the local specialties of the area- mikan tangerines. They are everywhere.
??????
???

mystery veggie
Kiwi treesKiwi trees
Kiwi trees

Another crop that is around is Kiwis.
figsfigs
figs

So here are figs, or ichijiku. They are also grown here, along with oranges, onions, eggplants, peaches, strawberries and blueberries, among others. It's like being in California!
The Kinokawa RiverThe Kinokawa River
The Kinokawa River

Beautiful beautiful river at an time of day!
Suzuki-kunSuzuki-kun
Suzuki-kun

Here is our supervisor for Kinokawa- Suzuki Sensei, or Suzuki-Kun as we like to call him. He took us out to make and eat Okonomiyaki and is just a funny guy in general...though his english is...well...yeah...


Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb