Day 03: Toyama, Gateway to the Hokuriku Region (Sep 2017)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Toyama
September 18th 2017
Published: October 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Monday, 18th September 2017

Nagoya >> Maibara >> Kanazawa >> Toyama (315.1km, 179 mins, 11,350 Yen)

I spent the better half of this morning commuting through a series of JR Limited Express and the Hokuriku Shinkansen trains to reach the beautiful city of Toyama from Nagoya. I had a bento lunch onboard the train before arriving at JR Toyama station some 3 hours later.

Toyama would be my base for 3 nights to explore the sights of the Hokuriku region including the UNESCO World Heritage, the Shirakawa-Go Village about 60 minutes away from the city. The city is also well-connected with the rest of the cities along the Sea of Japan through to the Tokyo Region.

I spent my afternoon within idyllic Toyama, a very pleasant city to go around on foot and on trams through its various sites. The northern Iwase Region containing the Port Tower and the Historic District was reachable through a pleasant ride onboard the modern Port Tram system. The highlight of my day was probably the view from the City Hall Observatory which commanded a fantastic vista of the nearby Tateyama Mountain Range and Toyama Castle.

In the evening, I headed back to my hotel which came attached with a therapeutic hot spring bath within the bedroom. After a light sushi dinner, I rounded my day with a complimentary serving of delicious ramen noodles before retiring for the evening.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 37; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb