Day 02: Kyoto - Fushimi Inari Shrine (Sep 2017)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto » Fushimi
September 17th 2017
Published: October 18th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, 17th Sep 2017

Kyoto >> Nagoya (147.6km, 36 mins, 5,590 Yen)

My last itinerary for the day before returning to Nagoya was a quick trip to the Fushimi Inari Shrine in Central Kyoto. Located just 5 minutes away at Inari Station (via JR Nara line), the temple is clearly evident as soon as I made my way from the train station. Fronted by the bright and imposing Torii Gate at the entrance, the beautiful shrine is clearly a number one hot spot in Kyoto judging by the number of visitors and worshipers she received on a typhoon-proned afternoon.

I didn't linger long enough at the temple grounds nor stopped by at any of the souvenir stalls as I made my way towards the trail leading to the "Thousand of Torii Gates". There was an immediate sense of peace as I approached the trail even though it was lined with visitors hoping to grab the best photo taking spot before the last light of the day diminished.

This was a long day out from Nagoya for me today. I took some risks hoping that the typhoon threat would not dampen my travel plans. As soon as I reached Kyoto Station, I booked myself on the next available seat for my journey back to Nagoya. By 8pm that same evening, feeling comfortable and cosy in my bedroom, the typhoon Talim had finally made landfalls in Nagoya city. It had been downgraded to a tropical storm and the good news was, the sky was expected to clear up by morning as I continued on my travel plans towards the city of Toyama in the north.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb