Left my heart in Tokyo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
October 6th 2014
Published: November 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Good Morning Tokyo!Good Morning Tokyo!Good Morning Tokyo!

View from hotel window!
My last month flying the skies as a trolley dolly, and for it I bid for two of my favourite trips - Rio and Tokyo. So happy when I got my last ever roster to see both those trips on it.

Tokyo trip was first. Was so worried it was going to get cancelled as there was a typhoon there the day before we were due to fly out but was ok. Got to hotel about 8am, had a nap and got myself up at midday to go head out. Not wasting any time on this trip. Decided for today I would just go to Kamakura again as it is not too far and such a beautiful part of Tokyo. I got the train from Sakuragichō Station in Yokohama to Kita Kamakura, had to make one change at Yokohama station. Journey only takes about half an hour which is quite good. I walked down from the station towards centre of Kamakura, had done this walk on a trip last here year so I knew where to go. Such a peaceful walk with little houses and random cafés along the way. Also a few temples to go in and visit on this route. I went into a temple called Kencho-Ji. Was 300yen for admission which is about £1.50. Gorgeous place to go into, and it is ranked first of the five great zen temples of Kamakura and the oldest zen training monastery in Japan. Worth a visit! Quite a large temple area with five little buildings/temples along the way to go into. There was a little Buddha statue at the beginning of the walk in which people were rubbing, perhaps for luck. I had a wee rub myself. The temples have different things inside for instance Buddha statues and shrines, and such lovely architecture. Shoes need to be removed when going into the Hojo building at the back and no photographs allowed. There is an area with matts to pray and guidelines on the correct poses. I had a walk around it, then had a seat at the back of the building overlooking the garden which was so peaceful. After here I continued walking down the road and got to the Kanagawa temple. I had wrote about here in a previous blog from earlier in the year. It's a gorgeous big red temple with a lovely walk up steps towards it and once at the top can look down on the area. Before you enter this attraction there are sink water feature area with large ladle spoons that are meant for you to use to cleanse yourself before entering an area of prayer. You need to use the ladle to wash both hands and then rinse your mouth with water. First time I did this I tried to use the ladle to drink the water which was found hilarious by others. So this time I did it properly using the ladle to put water into my hand and drink the water from my palm. Was really busy here, especially with school children. I then had a walk down the shopping street of Kamakura which has lots of lovely little shops, cafés, restaurants etc. Bought my self some chopsticks with Mount Fuji on them as a souvenir. When I had been here last year in the summer we had gone to the beach so I thought I'd walk there again. It's not too far, about 10/15 minute walk. It's nice to escape from the business of Tokyo. It isn't white sand beaches but still really nice to go to. Had a sit on the sand watching the surfers. Have heard that Japan does have a popular surfing culture. Sun was beginning to set aswell which added to the scenic setting. Headed back for the train after here to get back for dinner with the crew. We all met at 6pm and went to the usual haunt - a British Pub that does happy hour from 4pm til 7pm. Typical Brits! Stayed there just for an hour then went to the restaurant with the water pipe feature which I have mentioned in blogs a couple of times. Always good to take people here who haven't been before and the food is so nice! Had my spicy sesame oil noodle soup again, and some gyozas. Was ready for bed after this as been such an active day but the captain mentioned going to the 500yen bar so I was easily swayed into staying out for little bit longer. There is a street in Yokohama near the hotel that has little bars down it, some of which can only hold about three people. There is kareoke places, a reggae bar and then the 500yen bar which we went to. It's called Gimme, Gimme, Gimme which I thought was quite funny. Tiny little bar that once five of us were in it was almost full. Does as it says on the tin aswell with all drinks being 500yen. They also have loads of games for you to play. We started on the Jenga then it was suggested to play tequila pop up pirate - meaning who ever made the pirate pop out his barrel had to do a shot of tequila. This went on for about an hour! Then two more girls from the crew had found us here and joined in to. Played tequila card games, and tequila Jenga! Lots of fun being had. I also managed to attract an older Japanese fellow who was chatting away to me in Japanese, then gave me a big hug and said he loved me! Bless him. Unfortunately it just wouldn't work out, with the long distance and the fact I won't be back here on trips.
After here we popped into a another little bar called Sam's Bar which usually has a band playing but we just missed them. However Sam still played us a couple of songs, even with a broken finger he was so good!


The next day took a trip into the city to some of the main tourist areas. Again have been here before but just as this is my last visit here I want to see it all again. Got the train to Shibuya. Again easy journey with no changes needed this time and only took about 40minutes. Shibuya is known to have one of the busiest pedestrian crossings in the world. It's one of the must sees if in Tokyo. There is a Starbucks on the corner here which in you go in and have a seat upstairs you can just look down and watch the masses of people crossing the road. The Shibuya area is know to be very modern and fashionable with loads of shops, restaurants and a good night life. Had a wander around then walked towards Harajuku, as there was a temple area I had gone to a couple of years ago there and really wanted to find it again, and I did! It is called The Meiji Temple and it is amazing. Right next to Harajuku train station. There is a pathway into it which is surrounded by trees and so peaceful . It doesn't at all feel like you are in the middle of Tokyo. There is a main complex of shrine buildings and a prayer tree. Had to cleanse with the water again before entering. The prayer tree is a large tree which is surrounded by wooden placs with prayers that visitors have written. Most of them are for peace and happiness for family and friends. Got a bit emotional reading some of them. At the side there are some little tables with pen and paper for you to write your own prayers and put them into a wooden box. So I popped one in. There also seemed to be an event on as there were lots of woman dressed in traditional Japanese style robes, with make up and sitting in chairs at what looked like a prayer session. Left the tranquility of here and went a walk around Harajuku. Again a very fashionable part of Japan with lots of shops. Wandered down one of the main shopping streets, which was hectic with lots going on. Treated myself to a lovely scarf from one of the shops. After a walk around this area, just headed back to Shibuya and got the train back to Yokohama. So exhausted with all my exploring, to the point that I fell asleep on the tube and thankfully woke up at my stop.

Had a walk around Yokohama and got some gyoza to snack on. Think that's what I will miss the most about here, they're so delicious and never the same when get them back home. For dinner it was back to the Katsu curry place where you choose level of spiciness. Wasn't brave enough to go any higher than I have done previously.

I am so glad I got this as one of my last trips as it is somewhere I probably would never have ventured to had it not been for this job. And to top it off I got to sit in the flight deck for take off when we left, allowing me to see views of the whole city. Was amazing! I'm not sure if I will ever go back to Tokyo, but never say never. It is such a surreal place with so much to see and do. Would love to travel to other parts of Japan such as Kyoto. It's been a great opportunity getting to explore this city!





Additional photos below
Photos: 82, Displayed: 28


Advertisement




Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb