Wednesday - Japan rail pass and Tokyo sight seeing


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
September 22nd 2014
Published: September 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today was my first full day in Tokyo and it was a bit daunting I have to say, however I had already managed to get to the hotel from the airport so I must be doing something right. I'd chosen the hotel as it near the train station where I needed to go for my rail pass and also to catch my train to my first destination of choice. The station also housed the bus station next door and subway stations. It was a massive station with a shopping mall and cafés and restaurants in it with several entrances and exits and was all a bit mind boggling.



Anyhow wearing my best big girl pants I found the station and the rail pass office and traded up my voucher for my pass starting tomorrow, I just hadn't made my mind up where I wanted to go lol. Luckily the hotel was only a few minutes walk away so I headed back to plan my whistle stop tour of Japan and also to decide where I wanted to go for the day.



I decided to head for a shopping street called Takeshita Street famed for its ‘anything goes’ attitude – the crazy and wonderful outfits of the fashionistas strutting their stuff. I took the subway and found it quite easily and had a wander along all the crazy shops selling odd fission items as well as gothic and rock. There was one really cool designer shop which had the craziest outfits from goth to camp and more sequins than the lady boys of Bangkok can shake a feather at lol, but no one is allowed to take photos, so I just took a photo of the shop window and display outside. It was crammed full inside of costumes, feathers, sequins, studs, leather and lace, you name it they had it.



In the street were also restaurants, cafés and crepe stalls. After walking around for while I headed to the main shopping area and then headed back to the hotel as it was a bit of a trek on the subway and it was getting late and I'd have to battle with the crush hour traffic. I also wanted to make plans for my second day in Tokyo.





Xxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.389s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.3018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb