Thursday - Osaka


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka » Osaka
September 22nd 2014
Published: September 27th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today I took the train from Tokyo to Osaka. I had booked in a hostel for the night leaving my luxury hotel behind lol. I have to say I'm super impressed with the Japanese trains. They are modern, fast, clean, quiet and very punctual with loads of leg room and reclining seats. This is what UK rail and train operating companies should be aiming towards!



When I arrived I didn't really have any directions as the website was a bit pants so it was time to fly by the seat of my pants and hope luck would fall my way, which it did!



I found the Japan rail office which had free wifi and a very helpful lady who pointed me in the direction of the subway and stop to get off at. Then bemused by the map and how it all worked a ticket inspector helped me. When I got off I asked another helpful subway official who gave me a map and drew on my route so in no time at all I was there.



The hostel was ok but very different from ones I had stayed in before. It was very quiet and off the beaten track. The room I was in was a mixed dorm but only a couple of people were staying so I had my choice of beds. I decided on a couple of places I wanted to visit but when I asked the guy on duty (who was asleep and I had to wake up) he was about as useful as a chocolate fire guard. Not impressed! So a bit more research on line and a copy of the lonely planet quickly checked out I was on my way!



I negotiated the subway again, I'm getting good at thus lol, and I ended up at the xxxxxxxxxxxx temple. It was due to shut at 4.30pm so I had about an hour and a half there. It was very quiet as it was the end of the day. I went I to the 5 story pagoda but he view wasn't very exciting. I as impressed with the two spiral staircases though, one up and one down! In the tower on each levels were gold coloured Buddhas one even showing the devils horns m/ !!! I was very impressed but as usual photos were not allowed. I did take photos of the buildings and court year etc 'in the garden' as someone referred to it as being called but I couldn't see any flowers and I should know I'm a gardenist lol



From there I took the tube back to the station to book my ticket fro tomorrow and then took the tube to Xxxxxxxxxxx street. It's famed for it's neon signs, restaurants, river and river walk, and the river boat tour and shops. It was really busy with sightseers, and I got there around dusk time and had a good old wander. I saw the famed 6m high animated crab and the famous runner neon sign which apparently gets a make over for special events and occasions like the world cup and Olympics. It seems that many of the restaurants want to get your attention by a adorning their premises with huge logos and icons.



After spending a couple of hours there I headed back to the hostel I dint want to be out too late as I had to do some research for tomorrow, I was tired and I wasn't looking forward to the walk along the unlit road on my own. However all was ok and it was quite a busy road, although there was no footpath I walked along it rather tan the embankment about which seemed to have green light illuminating it.



As usual with hostels, although it was quiet it took the boys til gone midnight to get showered and settled with the usual plastic bag rustling lol.





Xxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1096s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb