last day in Nikko


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 7th 2005
Published: May 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I woke early and packed my bag, had a quick cup of green tea and then headed out on a 10 mile hike. My first stop was the Bakejizo, and row of mossy-covered seated bosatsu's (guardian deieis of children and travelers). Rumor has it that no matter how many times you try and count them, you will always get differing figures.

After Bakejizo, I headed further down the river on a walking path the led me past small shrines and torri's. After about two hours, I turned my direction towards Jakko-no-taki, a waterfall up the mountain. Only 2km up the road, but the hike is straight UP! Upon reaching the falls, I was wiped. Luckily the walk down was a bit easier.

Before heading out to the train station for Tokyo, I spend the remainder of my time here in Nikko meditating and writting on a rock near the botanical gardens.

Well, back to Tokyo.

L-


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.54s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 34; qc: 162; dbt: 0.2104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb