North of Tokyo - Nikko


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 7th 2005
Published: May 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I woke to rain and cold as I prepared for my morning stretching (a must for my bad back). After my "western" breakfast which consisted of a hard boiled egg, some toast and tea, I adjourned to my room to prepare for my visits to the various temples and shrines that Nikko is most famous for. To my luck, the rain had subsided so I could enjoy a leisurely stroll through amazing gardens, shrines and temples. The cloudy skies coupled with the glistening created by the earlier rain made the gardens come alive with sweet smells.

Being the ever wise businessman, I purchased a "combination ticket" to the many attractions. From the Rinnoji Garden and Temple which featured three large gold buddah-type statues, to the Tosyogu Shrine (whose entrance features a huge stone torri and finally the Futarasan Shrine and neighboring Taiyuin Byo, I was transported to a simplier time with great intraspection. The large crowds hampered my meditation in one temple but the experience was moving. Strangely, as I was writing in my journal among the tall trees in the Taiyuin garden, the sun broke through the clouds creating the streaks which reminded me of the image from the movie Tora Tora Tora.

A quick lunch of chicken, egg and rice and a change of clothes, I headed off to the Chuzenji lake featuring a 97m waterfall called Kegon-no-taki. The bus ride was fun as I met three young ladies from Korea. After some very "small" talk as their english was primitive and my Korean non-existent, I asked them their age. Late 20's for all of them. They looked 18 a piece. I said "really, you look much younger". After finding out I was 36, they said "really, you look much younter". Touche!

The waterfall was alright and the lake appealing, but I really wanted to take the cable car which was at the second to last stop on the bus ride which I somehow missed. So, with the sun setting and determined to get my cable car ride, I trekked back up the highway. Between me and the cable car stood a 960m tunnel. For those who know me and my claustophobic tendancies, this was a test. I tightened my backpack and up'ed the volume on my mp3 player and traversed the tunnel with only a slight vision of my impending doom. But alas, with the
Tosyogu ShrineTosyogu ShrineTosyogu Shrine

guardian of the shrine entrance
recent victory on my side, the last laugh was on me as the cable car closed 30 minutes prior.

The bus back to Nikko Central for another wonderful Japanesse bath and a dinner featuring a grill-in-the-table type meal. Enough for now, my bed is calling.

L-


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Dinner in NikkoDinner in Nikko
Dinner in Nikko

Some nice fresh sirloin which I grilled at my own table.


Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0164s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb