arrived in Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 6th 2005
Published: May 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I arrived in Japan on Tuesday and so far everything has gone extremely well. I'm glad I trained a bit back home cause I have been walking alot of miles (or kilometers) since I got here. The weather has been magnificent...sunny and warm during the day with a bit cooler evenings.

Spent the first few days in Tokyo seeing the main sites. Visited the imperial palace, the fish market, and a few of the more popular areas of the city (shinjuku, harajuku, shibuya, ginza, akahabra). even got to experience late night Kareoke with some friends I made here (gal from NZ and one from Japan). We sang all night until 5am and when we exited, the Shibuya area (known for being swarmed with youngsters) was still packed with thousands of kids running about.


On friday, I headed up to Nikko where many shirnes and temples are. It is raining here but I am sure I will enjoy visiting the sites.

I plan to stay in Japan through the end of this month with visits to: Mt Fuji, Izu, Hiroshima, Kyoto and Osaka. On May 3oth, I fly to Hong Kong to meet my friend Joe.

Larry


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Fish MarketFish Market
Fish Market

a friendly man gave me a ride on his little truck and showed me his collection of shrimp
Golden Week ParadeGolden Week Parade
Golden Week Parade

This week is Golden Week so I thought it best to join the parade
Temple DragonTemple Dragon
Temple Dragon

A dragon at a local Tokyo temple
Harajuku GirlsHarajuku Girls
Harajuku Girls

Here I pose with two of the infamous girls of the Harajuku area
Free MassageFree Massage
Free Massage

Leave it to me to find a small outdoor party which has free massages sponsored by the red cross
japanesse weddingjapanesse wedding
japanesse wedding

One of the temples I visited had a wedding taking place
KareokeKareoke
Kareoke

A star is born at the late night kareoke joint in Shibuya
Sacred BridgeSacred Bridge
Sacred Bridge

A quick walk around Nikko upon arrival produced this photo of the sacred bridge.


Tot: 0.334s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 31; qc: 157; dbt: 0.179s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb