Day trips out of Tokyo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
May 10th 2005
Published: May 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, Ive been in tokyo now for a few days and have used the time to take one-day excursions to some fantastic sites.

First up was Mt. Fuji. It is about a 2 hour bus ride from Tokyo to Shimodo-Yoshida where there is good viewing of the mountain. I grabbed a Japanesse pastry and a bottle of water and boarded the bus. I had the entire back area to myself with the nearest passenger 8 rows in front of me. I took off my shoes and sox, hit play on the MP3 player and wathed the Japan countryside roll by. I woke up about 2 hours later and outside the window is this gigantic image of Mt Fuji. I then find out from the bus driver that I missed my stop so I get off at the next one. It turns out to be Kawaguchi where, as luck would have it, there is a beautiful Lake and a fantastic viewing spot for Fuji up on a platform via a cable car. I embark on the 10 minute walk to the lake & cable car and upon arriving at the lake, a representative from a large group of elderly Japanesse people ask me to take their picture. Once I agree, 13 or so cameras come flying at me. I graciously take all of their pictures and even snap one for myself.

I head up the cable car and view Mt. Fuji. It is an amazing site. They say the mountain likes to hide behind the clouds. But on this day, the mountain was gracious to me and the other onlookers.

The bus ride back was spent talking with a very nice man from India whom I will visit when I go to India. He promised to take me for good food and possibly try my hand at Cricket.

The next day trip was to Kamakura, home of the Great Buddah (Daibutsu). I also had a chance to visit Hasdera Temple (also known as Hase Kannon-ji) which houses a great garden, a host of Jizos and an 11-faced Kannon believed to date back to the 8th century. Unfortunately, photos are not allowed in many of the Hasdera temples which feature the Kannons. The Jizos are the patron saint of travelers and souls of small children. In my photos you will see that some of them are clothed. This is done by women who have lost children by abortion or miscarriage.

Hopefully I will get to a Sumo match and a hot bath house here in Tokyo before I head to the beaches of Izo.

Hope everyone is doing well.

L-


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Dinner in TokyoDinner in Tokyo
Dinner in Tokyo

Raw meats, vegetables and such which we grill at our table
My backpackMy backpack
My backpack

Many of you asked how I am carrying my gear. I use this small pack (ha!).
Found this place in TokyoFound this place in Tokyo
Found this place in Tokyo

Could not help myself...had to take a picture next to this sign


14th July 2005

you are cute!!
Hi there! I'm planning a trip to Tokyo at the end of August, and was wondering your take.........? I'm going with a friend (2 single females!) and wondered if it will be safe for us? We are also planning on hiking Mt. Fuji...... what do you think?

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb