All About Teaching


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
November 17th 2005
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

TeachingTeachingTeaching

I know I shouldn't play favourites, but she (Yuka) really is.
So many people have inquired, so here's the scoop on teaching. I teach at 4 different schools every month. I spend a week at each school, so pretty much I see my kids once a month. My kids range from 2-16 years and I can have anywhere from 2-8 kids in a class. On average I teach about 3 1-hour classes a day, so I do have a lot of free time. It's not bad, cause prep time for my classes each day is about an hour or so. I teach Tuesday-Saturday. The really young kids are adorable and although the job itself is not very challenging, the kids make it worth while. The first thing I've done with each class as I've introduce myself is show them pics of Frazzle (my dog) and Ebony (my mom's cat). That definitely gets their attention as all the dogs here are small and get carried around in purses. So you can imagine their reaction when they see a big monster of a dog. The company I work for is pretty good too. They have a lot of support systems in place for us foreigners so it's pretty decent. Unfortunately in Japan we get
TeachingTeachingTeaching

My students at Kita Sakado School. Another favourite is Arisa (girl in the printed dress).
paid once a month, so I'm still waiting for pay day since being here, since they hold your salary back a month. At least it will teach me to be smarter at budgeting, which will definitely make my mom proud. That's about it. Will keep the pics coming.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

TeachingTeaching
Teaching

My students at Kita Sakado School.
TeachingTeaching
Teaching

My students at Kita Sakado School. Hideto (another favourite), Tomo, Yuka, Nozomi, Reiki & Yuta.
TeachingTeaching
Teaching

My students at Kita Sakado School.
TeachingTeaching
Teaching

My students at Kita Sakado School. Rina, Chika & Emi.


28th November 2005

Hey rosita, This is so great! I can't wait for my trip to Japan :) Your journals are so very detailed, don't know how you have time :)
29th November 2005

Hey Rosita- Glad to see you are having such a great experience and It's great following your adventures on line. You seem to be adjusting sooo well but I'm not the least bit surprised. Any plans to come home for Christmas? Do you even read these little blurbs or are they just for the amusement of all of us pals of yours. Perhaps someone else can respond.
7th December 2005

Dissappointed
What happened to all of the exciting entries? Should I be worried? Anyone know Rosita's Christmas plans? Scarborugh or Tokyo?
13th February 2006

Rosita, update your blog!!!!!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb