Hiatus Is Over


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
March 1st 2006
Published: March 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sorry everyone, but now my hiatus is over. I finally have internet at home, so no more expensive internet cafes. Where should I begin. Well, I experienced my first earthquake a few weeks ago and it was so exciting. Apparently they happen all the time, but I guess they were so small that I never felt them. This one I definitely felt. I was sitting on my bed and my entire apartment started vibrating. Took a while to register it was an earthquake. It lasted all but 10 seconds, but it was still an exciting experience, woowee.

Got hit by a car while on my bike about 3 weeks ago. I was told that it happens quite often, cause the drivers never look out for pedestrians and cyclists. It was a small hit, nothing major. I was in such shock that not one word came out of my mouth (and for those who know me, that's hard to believe). I just picked myself off the road and walked away with my bike, while a bunch of Japanese people were talking away in Japanese trying to figure out if I was ok.

Winter here is definitely not as bad as Toronto, but it's quite funny. There have been 2 snowfalls in Tokyo since I've been here and let me tell you the chaos that occurs. The first time it snowed, it was so light that the snow barely covered the ground. Classes were being cancelled, chains were being put on tires, etc. It was ridiculous. All I kept thinking was they need to experience a Canadian winter.

Also it's very common to see Japanese people with white masks on their face (SARS-like masks), especially during winter. If you have a cough or cold you slap one on, so you don't pass your germs on to others. If you have a runny nose you let it drip, cause it's considered very rude to blow your nose in public. However, I have not adhered to this rule and continue to blow my nose (but try to do it quietly).

That's it for now, but I do promise to not neglect my blog and keep it updated, especially now since I have internet. YAY!

Advertisement



1st March 2006

yes i think that most of us who know u have experienced your nose blowing routine while at a restaurant or some place where other people are eating....ha ha ha
1st March 2006

So great to hear from you Rosita! Sounds like things are going well there. I'd love to here more about Tokyo and the night life. Are you going out to clubs or anything like that. Are you coming home???!! Take care, Nance

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb