Finally Got Wheels


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
November 16th 2005
Published: November 21st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Woohoo, finally got my bike today. Almost ran into 2 cars and 3 people, but who's counting? It's tougher than I thought, but practice makes perfect. I definitely don't fit in here and stand out like crazy. Not just the fact that I'm one of the few dark skinned brown people in this country, but everyone here dresses like they are in the 80's. I don't get it. Everywhere you look, there are Japanese versions of Duran Duran and Wham back in the day. I so need my hair trimmed, but I'm scared that once I walk into a Japanese Salon, I will walk out of it with a mullet. Also almost every female in Japan under 35 wears mini skirts and high boots. The school girls especially, roll up their skirts to make them insanely short, so short that when you walk up the stairs behind them it's a free peep show and no I'm not joking. It would a man's dream, as everywhere you look you see legs, legs and more legs (if you are a leggy guy that is). I must admit though that the majority of the Japanes women do have nice legs. They even ride their bicycles with their teeny tiny skirts and then it's a free for all, cause everyone can see their business. All the salary men (aka anyone with a salary pay) wear suits and yes they all ride bicycles too. No matter what your position is, you wear a suit. It's like the movie Men In Black everywhere. I wish I could take pics and post them, but that would be too obvious, but I will try. Will update with pics when I get a chance.

Advertisement



25th November 2005

Legs of Steel
Why doesn't it surprise me that you're running into people? Keep the wheels turning and watch where you're going! :) Btw, please don't bust out the Britney Spears schoolgirl look - so passe! :)
22nd December 2005

I enjoy your blogs. I lived in Osaka in the 80's. Good to be updated. I am from Canada. I worked as an English Teacher for Nova. I would like to know if you have to have a university degree now to teach. I missed that information when you posted about your work as an English teacher. Thanks Linda Could you email me. lindalarsson566@hotmail.com

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb