And the story continues...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Aichi » Nagoya
November 14th 2005
Published: November 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Been 6 weeks now, since I've been in Japan. Went for my first Japanese lesson today, which lasted a loooooong 2 hours. Way too difficult to learn so don't really know if I will continue with it. I figure why learn a language I have no interest in, especially since I won't be here for longer than a year. I've already picked up things here and there and I can get by. There are people that have been here for 4 years and get by no problem. I figure I'll make do with getting by.

Went into Tokyo (Shibuya & Harajuku) for the first time last week (November 6/05) and it was amazing. It was raining all day, so apparently it wasn't as crowded, but I thought it was. There's a pic with my and a friend standing in front of a statue of a dog in Shibuya, Tokyo. The story behind it is, this dog was a stray. There was an old Professor who would come to that spot every day during lunch and when he saw the dog he would share his food with him and continue to do so everyday. The Professor passed away, but the dog continued to return to the spot at lunch time and wait for the Professor, until he died😞 Sad story, but so touching. It's a common meeting place in Shibuya. Went clubbing in Tokyo for the first time on Saturday (November 12/05) and had a blast. Interesting experiencing a Japanese Club. Same music, but different vibe, crowd and atmosphere.

Will be getting a bicylcle soon, as another teacher is leaving and selling me his. So I'm going to take the plunge and ride instead of walk. May kill a few people doing so, since the streets are so crowded, but practice makes perfect. When I start balancing my groceries on my bike, while holding an umbrella while it's raining (not uncommon to see that), only then will I be a pro.

A lot of smokers in Japan. This would be a smokers haven, since cigarettes are only $3, but for people like me it's the total opposite. You are allowed to smoke everywhere, from restaurants to stores to smoking in special cars on the subway/train. Speaking of subways/trains, there are women only cars during the morning and evening rush hour, due to the groping problem (yes I said groping) on crowded trains and women here do not speak up, as they are ashamed. Can you belive it? The women are ashamed that they were touched and not the other way around. However if a woman was to speak up the man would get off the train due to being embarassed and put to shame.

Will keep the updates and pics coming along. Enjoy.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



14th November 2005

Envious in TO
Girlfriend, I'm so envious. Wish I was there too. I dig your pad....guess you won't be throwing any big partahs. Looking forward to following your journey through this site!! Cheers, Anita PS. I'm worried about coming to Japan - I feel I might succumb to smoking.....
16th November 2005

Really enjoying the tour......truly gives an insight into the Japanese lifestyle...need some lessons from the Japs on space saving....I would never be able to survive there,being the "hoarder" that I am....seems interesting....looking forward to seeing more of it...
17th November 2005

Well?
OK Rosita....hope all is well...don't want to spread rumours, but I hear you have met someone!!! Please confirm. Glad you are enjoying your experience and I hope all is well.
21st November 2005

Soooo interesting
My dear daughter, lovely to read of your great experiences ........the culture, traditions, the surroundings and of course the sushi delights. You look wonderful and I am glad you make the most of life's experiences. Look forward to reading your next blurb. Take good care. Love and miss you lots!! Ma

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb