Oh the food!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
February 24th 2007
Published: February 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Tokyo nightlifeTokyo nightlifeTokyo nightlife

This is in Shinjyuku...pretty close to my office. For all of you gamers this is your street.
Hi all! So Tokyo is super fun and I the food is the best best best part! First off for those that have never been to Japan, you rarely find one stop shop Japanese places. Meaning, in the states you have sushi, tempura, tonkatsu and even soba in the same place. Here, restaurants are much more specialized...and for good reason! Usually the ones that are not, well, suck.

During my first week here my whole team took me out on the town. Mind you it was a Thursday night, but to my Japanese friends Thursday is as good as Saturday! I've attached some photos of my business partners and friends. I have been working with most of these people already for a yr plus so I know them pretty well. That helps during the language breakdown moments. 😊 They are all so fun and welcoming and Im getting pretty used to the local moonshine....shochu.

Getting back to the food though.....I don't know how these peeps are all so skinny...my favorites so far are these little pancake batter 'fish' (meaning molded to look like a fish, stuffed with sweet bean paste. I could eat one everyday, but thankfully they are so popular you have to wait an hour just for 1! My other favorite thus far has been this traditional tonkatsu spot. Tonkatsu, if done well, is the yummiest version of pork (other than ribs and bacon) ever found! It's panko fried pork cutlet. Hmmm. Yes I was a vegetarian for 15 yrs!

One final note, last night I went to Yakiniki which is basically a platter of meat (ALL parts of the cow) that you grill yourself. Oddly enough once you have cooked tongue and cow diaphragm you feel like you have grown big enough cojones to try whatever. One bit of advice...it is better not to ask WHAT you are eating. 😊 I learned that at a Mongolian spot last week....I had no idea that horse milk existed. HOW IN THE HELL DO YOU MILK A HORSE????

Lunch anyone????

Much luv,
Kati


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Bizness peepsBizness peeps
Bizness peeps

Kato san and all the ladies! In this photo we were celebrating the fact he had gotten married the day before.
Bizness peepsBizness peeps
Bizness peeps

Me and my girl Minako. She's great.
Im trying!Im trying!
Im trying!

This is me trying to learn how to slurp my noodles...Im such a rookie.


25th February 2007

I'm on board!
I am now subscribed- It was so good to talk to you last night!! That camera is great. Glad to hear you are having so much fun and, more importantly, enjoying the food! XOXOXO- miss you!
25th February 2007

Can't wait until you show me around!
25th February 2007

that looks like fun I want to go to Japan and have co-workers too
26th February 2007

Looks like you're having fun. Love the red bracelet. XX
27th February 2007

i'll take a rain check on cow tongue for lunch
Hi girlie! It sounds like so much fun to be travelling so far away. Although, I think you have better luck than me finding good food in other countries cause in Thailand I couldn't find good food and I know that was one of your favorite things there too! I just bought a new car today! :) Love you!
28th February 2007

Go easy on the shochu.
We don't want to have to put you in rehab when you get home.....

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0565s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb