I've always wanted to....


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo
March 14th 2007
Published: March 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Singin it...Singin it...Singin it...

Expat peeps
I feel that thus far in life, I've fulfilled most of my dreams. Not to say that I don't have a longggg list of things to still accomplish...but to date I feel pretty content. Living abroad has always been in the Top 5. Now that I am here in Japan I am realizing why it is that I craved this experience. There is something so educational about being uncomfortable.
You can be the most laid back, open, adventurous person alive (which I strive for...) and still feel uncomfortable in a new environment.

Tokyo is one of the easiest and hardest environments EVER. So far I have felt ok with only understanding 1/10th of what people are saying to me. The food is yummy, people are nice and the subway is fine as long as you have a map.

The things that are challenging have been more telling of my personality.
1) Concrete. Im not a huge fan of it. Plus since Jefe and I adopted the whale (aka Baloo) I have spent so much time outdoors!
2) If you stand still in the middle of the Shinjyuku station (which, as an unverified fact, is the busiest subway station on
Workin it...Workin it...Workin it...

This is my girl Joyce rockin the tambourine...I think I was working Material Girl.
the planet) you will feel like you are hallucinating. What you are hallucinating are so many people coming at you all at once and at very high speeds. So many people freaks me out a bit.
3)Tokyo cab drivers have no idea where they are going...even with GPS.

All of the above are things that folks in SF, Portland and most cities in the US take for granted. (NY as an exception...caged trees ring a bell?)

As for the photos, these are of a drunken karaoke night that started off at a tofu restaurant and ended at a Roppongi nightclub at 6 am...these were taken about 1/2 way thru the evening. 😊 Anyhoo just for some thoughts for the wk.
Im headed snowboarding this wkend so I will hopefully have some fun shots from that!

Much luv.
Kati



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Mt. Fuji...from far far away.Mt. Fuji...from far far away.
Mt. Fuji...from far far away.

I took this picture from the 30th floor of the Park Hyatt hotel. That's the Lost in Translation hotel...we have our training site there.
KagayaKagaya
Kagaya

This guy is a one man dinner show...a total loon making an easy dime if you ask me.
CostumesCostumes
Costumes

Everywhere you go there are toys and costumes!


14th March 2007

Work it Girl
I miss you so much!!!! You look pretty hot in those glasses Kati. Oooh, baby!!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb