Landed in Tokyo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Ueno
June 27th 2009
Published: June 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Lights of AkihabaraLights of AkihabaraLights of Akihabara

Tokyo's time square #4
After some frantic last minute packing (I'm packing light enough to fit everything in one backpack!), and some issues at Airport security (about 4 different people looked through my luggage... once to examine my iodine water purification thing and another for a "random security check"), I arrived in Tokyo in one piece. I had planned out a whole Jet-lag-prevention strategy that entailed sleeping on the entire flight to Japan, but I just couldn't fall asleep... so I ended up watching a bunch of Japanese movies to get myself in the mood for Japan (I highly recommend "Heaven's Gate" and "20th Century Boys"), while downing all the free beer that I could.

Tokyo is compelling because it is at once so familiar and foreign. Small family farm plots are placed in the middle of crowded towns, and you can find X-rated material right next to books meant for middle-schoolers. It's not that one society is more developed than the other, it's just that they're different. You have the modernity of New York, with all the cultural oddities that have developed in Japan, and it's a delightfully confusing feeling. There's also something rather comforting about knowing nearly no Japanese; I feel like
Polar Pure Water PurifierPolar Pure Water PurifierPolar Pure Water Purifier

What got me flagged at Airport Security... damn crystalline iodide
I can ignore what everyone is saying and move about in my own safe, protected bubble.

I am staying in a hostel in Ueno, which is a stop away from Akihabara, the anime/electronics mecca of Tokyo. Like many other places in Tokyo, Akihabara is ridiculously crowded in a Times Square kind of way, but it's nearly all locals!

I'm in a 4 bedroom room with people from Hong Kong, Greece, and Canada. I had dinner with Thierry, the Canadian, and had some great Sushi! We ordered through the tried and true point-at-the-menu method. Afterwards, we flexed our muscle at the arcades and window-shopped Akihabara. Tomorrow, I'm off to Shinjuku/Harajuku/Shibuya to check out the teen shopping malls and fashions (Gothic lolita?), and hopefully I'll have pictures of my stay in a capsule hotel!!

-Michael


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

On-flight phone/remoteOn-flight phone/remote
On-flight phone/remote

This photo is for Jim. They had this crazy all-in-one phone/remote control/game controller/etc etc that even had a built in credit-card reader! Those Japanese...
Suburbs of TokyoSuburbs of Tokyo
Suburbs of Tokyo

From the express train from Narita Airport to Central Tokyo
FarmlandFarmland
Farmland

Some random patches of Farmland
Sushi Dinner in UenoSushi Dinner in Ueno
Sushi Dinner in Ueno

"I don't speak any Japanese whatsoever" "Here is a picture menu"
Total-immersion ArcadesTotal-immersion Arcades
Total-immersion Arcades

Part of a crowded arcade in Akihabara... these arcades are expensive ($1 a go for the cheapest), but they're packed with people who are ridiculously good at these games (and not just pre-pubescent teens!)
Posing in AkihabaraPosing in Akihabara
Posing in Akihabara

Cheesing it up
All dressed upAll dressed up
All dressed up

Posing with Thierry
Pre-sleep drinkPre-sleep drink
Pre-sleep drink

Bought from a convenience store for 2 bucks... This stuff is called blended shochu, and it's nasty. Spend your two bucks on some crisp Japanese beer instead


8th July 2009

Lolita!!!!!!!!!!!!!! get me something Michael! frills and lace <3 ^_^ lolz

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb