such a nice family


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Harajuku
May 27th 2006
Published: May 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Too TallToo TallToo Tall

Once again I am a tall american in a little boat
Risa's parents are so nice that words cannot describe. Her brother too. They will not let me pay for stuff even if I try. I had a great time today. Her brother took me to Asakusa and a couple of other places I cannot remember the names of. I got to see a really cool temple as well as purify my spirit with holy incense and water. Now I should have good luck for the rest of my trip. I had my fortune told and I was very lucky. I recieved the best fortune they had. The first time in my life I had some luck. Tonight we had dinner at a restaurant with her brother, his girlfriend, and her mom and dad. It was a lot of fun. It seems strange now that I was so nervous to meet her parents because they are so nice.

I am finally completely over my jetlag and having a great time. I went to an old cemetary or palace where people go to pray for the emperor's soul. It was very beautiful. They have barrels and barrels of sake as an offering to either the gods or the emperor. I am not
Must be in JapanMust be in JapanMust be in Japan

Now you have to know where I am
sure. I also visited the Beverly Hills of Tokyo with Prada stores and Gucci and all the others. Fun to look at, but no shopping there. Way too expensive. It was interesting to see a protest against war happening in the city.

The restaurant we had dinner at tonight allowed dogs so everybody had one with them, even us. Risa's brother has a little toy poodle and he came to dinner with us. It is nice because the whole family loves dogs. So I fit in just fine, except for being a lot taller than everybody.

I think Jon would love it here. They give out tissues on almost every corner as advertisments, he would love it. He could also become a fisherman and sell his fish every morning. Next week I will check out the fish market. Another thing he would like is the noodle sandwiches. Tell me that is not made for Jon. He is the only person I know who puts bread (or noodles, or pasta) on sandwiches. I had one this morning for breakfast and it was quite good. Risa's mom also leaves a breakfast plate for me every morning before she leaves for work.
Cool Party BoatsCool Party BoatsCool Party Boats

I think you rent this in groups for festivals, parties, or to watch fireworks during holidays
They could not do more to make me feel at home.

It is so interesting to see the costumes the young girls here wear. I call them costumes beacuse I cannot think of a better word for them. So are dressed like little bo peep, and others here wear fashions that I can only say resemble things from the 80's. Crazy hair and bright colors that don't match in any way possible.

Tomorrow morning I will be leaving at 6:00 to go to Nikko. So this will be the end of the Journal entry because I am tired. I would say that I miss you all, but that would be a lie because I am having too much fun. So until next time. Matane. (for all of you gaigins that means see you later)




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Giant Beer MugGiant Beer Mug
Giant Beer Mug

This is the office of Kirin. They make beer, so why not make a building that looks like a big beer mug
Ceiling designCeiling design
Ceiling design

Cool artwok in Sensouge (sensou temple)
Neat little fountainNeat little fountain
Neat little fountain

A little hidden area in asakusa
AsakusaAsakusa
Asakusa

Same little area, but a much prettier face
LunchLunch
Lunch

Having tempura in a famous restaurant that has been there for over 125 years


Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb