Japan - Tokyo to Kyoto


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Asakusa
July 7th 2009
Published: September 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After a long stop over in Malaysia, me and my family arrived in Tokyo. Instead of having a 21st birthday present or party (I ended up having a house party anyways) we decided to go on a holiday to Japan. I choose Japan mainly because 1) It was an expensive country to travel around and I could do it with my parents and wouldnt have to worry about money 2) Well that's really it.

When we got there we went to this horrible crummy hostel and unpacked and explored but were too jet lagged to do anything really. The next morning we got up at 5am and went to the fish markets which was amazing and good. The tuna fish were huge and the hustel and bustle there was extreme. Glad I wore runner and not thongs that day otherwise I would have slipped around everywhere whilst getting hit by one of those extremly fast motorised vechile things. After a walk around we hitted up a sushi place, which was awesome good and fresh seafood sushi. After the market we went back to a park and then headed to the famous busy intersection of Japan. It was just as it looked in the tv shows and movies. Huge, busy and insane. Never seen so many brightly coloured lights and people in one place.

We did do Tokyo in a hurry because the parents wanted to be based mainly around Kyoto because everyone said that Kyoto is the best place to visit on the main tourist trail. So instead of getting the 7 day rail pass like I suggested so we could travel unlimited all around Japan for the week, we got the bus for 8-10 hours. It was an extremely long but comfortable bus drive at least.

I was looking forward to getting to Kyoto because my mate Kido from Netherlands was there. And it would be good to do some stuff away from the parents. I.e. Drinking.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb