01.03.2011 Dotonbori Large Crab and Glico sign in Namba, Minami, Osaka


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka
January 7th 2011
Published: January 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today was all about Osaka, and Kaori had some surprises for me. What seemed like a quick trip turns into one of the longest walks I have been on in Japan. Both Kaori and I were still hungry after the morning breakfast and train ride to Namba. The gold arches of McDonalds were only a 30 second walk from the train and I never had McDonalds in Japan yet so it was perfect. Kaori found a deal on our cells phones for coupons online and we both got a happy meal, been a long time since I had one of these. As you might be able to tell it was not the same as dinning at Kincaids, However the meal was filling and again the food was not overwhelming with fat like some McDonalds I have had in America. I am not sure I said this before but smoking is allowed in restaurants and public locations, its odd being in such a clean culture yet smoking is allowed basically everywhere, but that’s just my opinion.

We walked about 15 minutes to one of the largest shopping areas called “Shinsaibashi Shopping Avenue” in Namba Osaka. I was surprised by how much people need to walk from one place to another without cars, but later I found out why. As it turns out, there are so many people to walk that the cars have to wait for people traffic to pass them in order to go so in the small narrow streets. We arrived at the mall and got straight to walking some more. Shinsaibashi Ave had every store you could think of such as cheap trinkets, dog apparel, Gucci, anything and everything was there. There was an army shop close to the entrance and Kaori suggested we check it out. Upon first look I didn’t think much of it but then walking in I was extremely surprised. They had the most amount of secondary German army apparel available from propaganda flags, uniforms, books, apparel, badges and officer hats. There were also other international items from Sweden, Italy, France, British, Korean, and of course American. Very unique store and if you want to get something German I would highly suggest to stop on by. About 20 minutes of navigating through the crowd we came to what appeared to be Hello Kitty heaven and of course we stopped in to take a gander. I stayed back to let Kaori run about the store and check things out, she showed me a few items that would look great on me, such as some “kawaii” shirts and socks. But that was enough cute time for me so I moseyed on down to the entrance, but only after a few quick pictures for friends. Kaori wanted to get some shoes so we got out and made our way to one of the many shoe stores available. I picked up a pair of shoes to examine them and one of the sales people came over and asked for my size, I thought it would be ok to try them so he ran back to got a pair but before I could open them he was leading me to the register. I didn’t want to buy them of course so I waved Kaori down and she told the sales man I was just looking. There were of course crazy amounts for people walking around; it felt like trying to wade through pudding. I have a video that I will hopefully upload within a few days of how crazy it can be.

Time was going by faster than Kaori and I anticipated so in the light of things we decided to make out way over to another famously know location call “New American Plaza” The streets were packed and the vender looked like they were here for business. We were walking toward the street when out of the corner of my eye I spotted some of the most “Blinged” out cars. Both cars were Mercedes with small round Jews that covered the entire car. One was in all silver and the other was in gold, I was completely amazed and wanted to see what it felt like to be a rock star so Kaori snapped a photo of me. I wiped the drool from my mouth and set on to the plaza. Kaori pointed out one of the anime and figuring shops that had all sorts of weird figures for people to purchase. This was one of the places Nicolas Cage went to purchase his collection of Japanese statues. Eventually we made it New American Plaza and boy was it crazy. The street signs and shop lights give of the feelings that it day time but the amount of people and clothing styles suggest otherwise. The air smells of beer, fish, and sweat but it was the hustle and bustle of everyone that makes you want to stick around for a beer and talk to a stranger. This was the Japan you see in the magazines with crowds of people, crazy cloths and fun atmosphere. If you walk a little further out of the main area you come to a street of love hotels, and by the entrance of one of them named “Hotel for you” there was a young woman in a maid outfit. Kaori told me a little info about “those people” and took a picture. We walked a little further down the street and found one of the those famous car garages that spins your car around then a lift comes and brings It to another floor for parking.

One of the main places I heard was absolutely amazing was located in Namba known by the locals as Dotombori. This is basically were thousands of tourists and locals come to snap shots of the Osaka Crab, Asahi beer lights, and the neon ‘Glico man’ light. The colors and the lights were beyond words. This was by far the largest city I have been to and defiantly the most lights I have seen in a city. I would guess New Yorkers would feel at home here. This was one of the locations were you could see hundreds of tourists like myself snapping pictures and walking around for the view. Kaori suggested we run to the bridge to get a better shot of the signs. When we got there I just had to pause and take in all the spectacular sights and sounds. There was a nice couple that took our picture in from of the Glico sign and we took theirs for them. Kaori had to drag me to the next sight with the Osaka crabs were the little feet move about. She took a snap of me in front of the crab, and I had a huge rubber and smile stretched across my face. We walked to one of the theaters called NGK, this was where some of the famous comedians and movie stars go for shows also many of them perform here as well. I was supposed to see Jinnai, a famous Japanese comedian, but we missed it by a day or so. Inside the theater there were some comedian merchandise from all sorts of shows, one of my favorites called “gaki-no-tsukai” or as I commented in an earlier blog “Batsu game” had some items from the game show. We made our way around the Dotombori and walked to the end where the station was located. Kaori was getting hungry and I was feeling the same so we turned around and headed back to find a place to eat. There was a local blow fish restaurant, but I was not able to eat there because it might have crab or lobster, which I am deathly allergic to. Kaori made the suggestion to go to one of her favorite places called “Bikkuri Donkey”, believe me I was skeptical about the name of the restaurant. There was about a 20 – 25 minute wait to get in, since the streets were packed with people trying to find food, so we made the best of our time looking at the photos and chatting about so other places to visit. We arrived inside and were seated at the table. The restaurant had an odd Hawaiian/cabin/bar decoration that served hamburger (without the bun) with rice, or fries, or others items. I had no idea what to order so I went with the Burger and chicken platter and Kaori had the Burger with rice platter. I forgot to mention, when we were waiting we had to take a number at the entrance and I must admit it is very organized and timely. There were at least several other groups of people waiting to get in, and the food was served very timely. The service was also great, as soon as my water was almost gone, the waiter breezed by to fill it up again. We got our plate and I took my first bit, the first words out of my mouth were “oishi” or tasty. It may have been different, but different is delicious! The meal, the service, and the company were great, who could ask for more. I remembered a place in Hawaii that I visited called “Don Quixote” in Hawaii and of course it originates here in Japan. I went with Kaori to get a few more items and like most Japanese stores it had everything. Of course there were also several floors to go up so I had myself a wonderful sweat bath getting up the stairs to the seventh level. Kaori walked me through each level. Some had food, cloths, ladies items, house items, electronics, and upscale section with Gucci, Rolex, Tag, and other high end apparel. The Japanese Don Quixote has many more items to sell than the Hawaiian version. We made our way out of Don Quixote and to the streets.

The once crowed streets of Shinsaibashi Shopping Avenue are now deserted with rusting metal shutters baring every store in the mall and the cool breeze itching at you face as you walk through. We needed to get out of here so we made our way to the streets and what a surprise. The bright Christmas lights filled the streets with warmth and comfort as Kaori pointed out the different stores and sights along the way home. There were so many lights I had trouble figuring out which ones to take pictures of, and there were other people on the streets doing the same thing. Our walk home was quiet and wonderful, It was a just the thing to end the night and end the visit of Minami Osaka.




Additional photos below
Photos: 79, Displayed: 29


Advertisement



28th September 2011

Which McD's is better for you?(^.^) Japan or America?
Hi! My name is Yohei. I live in Tokyo and have studied English since last year. I've never been to Osaka yet. Takoyaki is the most famous food in Osaka. Have you tried it? I can eat it in TOkyo too. but I would like to eat it in osaka!! I've heard that the people in Osaka are more acticve than Tokyo. Let's enjoy staying Japan! Sorry for my poor English.

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb