OSAKA, JAPAN SECOND FULL DAY


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka » Osaka
April 3rd 2013
Published: April 3rd 2013
Edit Blog Post

OSAKA - SECOND FULL DAY - I awoke this morning undecided about my activities. One option was to spend the day at Universal Studios Japan. The other was to go downtown and experience the city center. I have been to Universal Los Angeles and Orlando before, I’m not a big movie fan, especially since I’m not in the target audience for the current crop, and I don’t do many thrill rides. So, I opted to go downtown, by train. I’m one of the few Caucasians on the trains and I haven’t heard any English in my wanderings. Needed help from the information desk about my fare and which track my train would be on. The fare was 160 yen, less than $2. US and I only had to wait about three minutes before it came in. Once I get used to the ticket procedure and as I get more comfortable with determining where I get transfers it will be fine. I understand why the Japanese are so happy to use this mode of transportation. I get to city center in about ten minutes and I was standing most of the way because of the crowd. The Osaka City Terminal is huge! Lots and lots of people who seem to know where they’re going, not me. I just find my way out of the station and am surrounded by tall buildings. The Hotel Granvia Osaka is attached to the terminal and the Hilton Osaka is across the street. These hotels and their adjacent buildings all have independent restaurants and luxury shops on the first several floors and guest rooms and offices above. I looked at many menus (they frequently have pictures and actual or ceramic representations of their foods) and selected one restaurant, Tokokuro. The young waitress greeted me and it turned out that she had pretty good English and was able to explain the menu to me. I selected an eight course set price lunch which gave me a good range of Japanese dishes. The meal started with a light salad and a nice vegetable soup (it could have used a little more salt, but there was none on the table). Next came six small servings of shrimp, a scrambled egg type dish, and four other small servings of vegetables and a bowl of rice. A dish like a stir fry with chicken followed along with a couple of dumplings stuffed with I don’t know what and then another bowl of soup, this time with noodles. Finally, a dessert with two small pieces of cake and a custard and very good tea. Oh yes, a couple of beers finished everything off well. It became a major meal, much more than I needed, but everything was happily consumed. I don’t know why the Japanese don’t seem to have a weight problem. Maybe I should move here when I need to lose (which seems like all the time). Then I walked around the neighborhood a little more before heading back to the Osaka Central Railroad station. Getting used to being a pedestrian when cars are driving on the left requires some thought, but even more challenging for me was being aware of the bicycles who use the sidewalks instead of the road (that would be a death wish for the riders). The bicycles and pedestrians share the sidewalk and there are supposed to be rules of right of way, but I couldn’t figure them out. Some of them go really fast! I needed some help at the train station again, but each time I need less and the ride back to the station near my hotel was fast. I started to get organized for packing.

Took a short nap and decided it was supper time. Walked a block from my hotel to a place I could get a pizza and a beer. I ordered, by pointing to a picture in the menu, a seafood pizza and a beer. The pizza was ok, thin crust, personal size with octopus, shrimp and mussel as identifiable seafood. It was ok. Beer, however, was great. I think I’ve tried most beers available but I hadn’t had a dark one. It was very good. Suntori. They serve hot sauce with their pizza. I like it! Back to the hotel to finish packing. My flight leaves at 5:05 pm local time, but 4:05 am Sarasota time. I fly non-stop to Seattle (at least I hope it’s non-stop), then to Atlanta and then to Tampa to pick up my car and then drive to Sarasota. Should be at home around 1:00 am Saturday. A long day, about 21 hours, but no complaints. It is what it is.

The Hotel New Otani Osaka is a great place to stay. The food and drinks are over priced, but the location is great and everything you need is nearby. Technology abounds here. When you enter the room you must put your key on a shelf near the door. The lights and airconditioning then turn on. When you leave (and take your key) the power goes off.

Unless something unexpected happens, this will be my last entry from this trip. I’ve really enjoyed thinking of you as I write these entries. Makes me feel as though I’m not alone and I hope you’ve enjoyed traveling with me.

God bless you all!

Advertisement



4th April 2013

Welcome home!
God bless you my friend I have missed you and look forward to your safe return xox
4th April 2013

Safe Travels home! Hope we get to see more pictures and hear your tales when you have recuperated from your jet lag!

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb