FORT LAUDERDALE TO BERMUDA ON THE PRINSEDAM


Advertisement
Bermuda's flag
North America » Bermuda
May 20th 2013
Published: May 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

FORT LAUDERDALE TO BERMUDA ON THE PRINSEDAM

I left Ft. Lauderdale, FL to Bermuda on the Prinsedam on May 17, 2013. The Prinsedam is a relatively small ship, 793 passengers and 439 crew, with follow stops in France and Belgium before ending in Tillbury, England. There are advantages and disadvantages to sailing on a small vessel. So far, I’ve only seen the advantages. I’ve met several really nice people from many locales, especially a couple from San Fransisco and another from San Jose. There are fewer bars on a small ship, so I get to know the bar tenders quicker and the entertainers as well. The entertainment on this ship is superior to many of the larger ships I’ve been on recently. Today I landed in Hamilton, Bermuda. I got up early to view the fantastic entry into Bermuda. It is an outstanding sight to come into Hamilton.

Bermuda is a beautiful, clean island with very friendly people. The colors of the buildings are pastels and very pretty. There are many, many scooters and, even as a pedestrian you need to be careful because the driving on the left patterns. My advice is take a taxi. I didn’t do the beaches this trip, but there really is pink sand here. You can’t go wrong with a vacation to Bermuda. This is my third trip to Bermuda, but first since 1993. I decided to just walk around Hamilton since I had taken tours of the entire island the last two times. I didn’t see many differences in those years, it still is a beautiful, friendly and comfortable island. I can’t figure out how the natives know I’m a tourist. Maybe carrying a camera and a map are hints?

I walked around the city and enjoyed the beautiful weather. Stopped at the Princess Hamilton Hotel for a cup of coffee (and a pit stop) and the fantastic view of the harbor. I had agreed to meet Jack and Susan (from San Fransisco) for lunch at the Hog Penny Pub for lunch. I got there early and found that there is a brewery on Bermuda (Dockyard Brewery) and I tried all three brews; Whale of Wheat, Trunk Island IPA, and Black Anchor Porter. That and Bermuda Fish Chowder made up my lunch. Jack and Susan left to do some shopping and I headed back to the ship, but something pulled me into Flanagan’s Irish pub for another brew and some red bean soup. Very good! Now, I’m back on the ship and looking forward to a Le Cirque dinner in the Pinnacle Grill. It will be seven days at sea before we are on land again, so I should get a lot of reading done (I read about the dangers of alcohol, so I gave up reading!).

I won’t post again until I’m in France unless something unusual develops.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

WAR MEMORIALWAR MEMORIAL
WAR MEMORIAL

IN HONOR OF BERMUDA SACRIFICES IN WWI AND WW II


20th May 2013

Miss You!
Miss you already great to read your blog Chuck have a safe & fun trip! lol The dangers of alcohol! Fay xx
20th May 2013

Great pics
Thanks for an overview, I've never been to Bermuda and it looks like a place I want to put on my list. Thanks.
20th May 2013
FROM THE PRINCESS

Glad you had a fun time in Bermuda. Nice pictures. Have fun on the rest of your trip
20th May 2013

Pastels?
What did they look like? Were they pinks and greens? Bob will appreciate your time in Hamilton. I would be in trouble if you lived near us. :)
21st May 2013

Thank you for the blog entry
Hi chuck, I will print and read this at lunch time today - whenever that may be !!! No, my write up day today and therefore a little less pressured. Changes are coming in my life or potential changes. I had a 3-4 week break from Ceda on our return as he wants to live together and I don't really want this as no need. However, rather than lose a good friend and someone I get on with 80% of the time and care deeply for, we agreed to trial 5 nights living together and 2 nights to ourselves until November. Talk about jumping. I am not good at change but who knows it may work well. Starts this coming weekend so lots of rearranging and asking my daughter to move things of hers to the garage out of her wardrobe. as for emma she has been working on the neo natal unit and now paediatrics until July. Her 5 week trip with her partner Hugh to Nepal was abosolutely fantastic and I am sure there are many more stories yet to be told. Only had a 2 hr catch up so far and their photos are not developed to date - nor are mine. I must learn how to confidently download photos ontl my computer. I have started back at art class on Wednesday nights - feels great and a new teacher, studio and I thought a new technique - learning to use oils. Also the studio has a good and welcoming atmosphere, just right for painting. I can only do evening class and was very lucky to have been able to get a spot as she is full most of the time. When my first one is varnished I will send a photo. Look up Clarice Beckett - an Australian artist whose known for her tonalism/tonal realism. It is in this style we are painting this term. Must get back to work, as that is where I am at present. Trip looks and sounds great and I hope you are meeting some very interesting people and being your sociable self. Cheers, Lainie

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb