Osaka Day 2 - Chilling out and walking about Tennoji and Dotombori areas in Osaka


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka » Osaka
May 22nd 2012
Published: July 9th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Guess my body was really tired I only woke up around 10am but just waited lying on the mat till like 1130am.

Decided to walk about the Shin Sekai area and explore things around where I was staying. There are many restaurants with this “Billiken” statue, and at the bottom is a phrase says “God Of Seeing Things As They Ought To Be”. Having done a bit of research on the internet, Wikipedia states that it is a charm doll created by an American art teacher who saw this figure in a dream. It is for good luck and represents a “no worry” ideal. This figure got to Japan in 1912 and is still there a sign on how much Japanese stick on to old trends and fashions while continuously embracing new ones.

Afterwards I decided to walk towards the Tennoji area where I came across a small shrine. There was a gentleman who came to pray and I spoke to him about the shrine he showed me how they prayed. There is a big tree wrapped with Tatami like material and they would bow down and clap a couple of times. They also have little prayer cards which
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Small shrine
they hang on purpose made pedestals. Most of them look like cartoon characters.

The Shitennoji temple is a massive complex and the day I went by some stroke of luck was a special day and it was free entrance. It was built by Prince Shotoku (574-622 A.D.) to mark the victory of the battle between the Sogo Clan and the Monobe Clan. The Sogo Clan represented b Prince Shotoku wanted Japan to embrace Buddhist while the Monobe Clan wanted Japan to stick to its ancient religions.

There were some nice views from the top of the temple. I met Jas from Poland while walking around the temple and thereafter he and I walked about Tennoji and towards the Dotombori area.

We passed by Pachinko gaming areas, the electronic shops, manga cafes and finally made it to the Hozen-Ji temple which has a moss covered statue. People pause there to throw some water at the statue.

I had arranged to meet with my friend Heather and we met at 7pm at the bar that I was working. I tried out this really nice boiled soya beans in the pod called “Edamame Beans”. Was great catching up with her after years and then I finished work at 11pm and headed home.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0728s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb