A short day in Osaka


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka » Osaka
September 15th 2008
Published: September 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The subwayThe subwayThe subway

lots of people going about every which way in Osaka Station.
So I decided to goto Osaka just to do a little shopping and meet up with some friends that I know there. It was pretty easy getting there from Honazono Station near my dormitory but I did not know that it would take nearly two hours to get there. Apparently there are a couple of lines for mass transit out of Kyoto. The JR (Japan Rail) serves the majority of Japan and is the most efficient way to travel through Japan. For this instance I would use it to travel to Osaka. I had to transfer trains at Kyoto station and then on to Osaka from there. I met a couple of nice Souteast Asian college students who attend the other Ritsumeikan campus somewhere south of Osaka I believe. Amit was the first one of the group I conversed with and I learned that he was from Nepal which is pretty neat. So as expected Osaka station was large and confusing, especially to the foreigner who does not read or speak Japanese. I met up with my friend Mangekeyou and we went to get some lunch within the crowded streets. It seems that instead of building large flat two or three
New FriendsNew FriendsNew Friends

Some nice English speaking Ritsumeikan students.
story malls like in the states, the Japanese like to build large malls with multiple levels.

I learned that Osaka has the largest underground network of shops and subways in the world...I'm sure this bypasses anything that Underground Atlanta can claim...LoL. This past weekend was a holiday weekend in celebration of elders...Monday is Grandparents Day and the majority of offices, banks, and Japanese Post are closed in observance for the holiday. I eventually headed to the electronics store to purhase some things for my computer. Now compared to your local best buy, this Japanese electronics store was massive! It had nearly eight levels, thousands of people, millions of electronics, and greeted customers in nearly every language on the planet. I was quite overwhelemed with this experience but I was still able to use my American credit card to purchase some speakers, a keyboard (in English and Japanese), and a mouse pad. All that for only 3,100 Yen ($30)

After my excursion at the Japanese electronics store I took the local subway and headed to Namba station where I was confronted by an even bigger shopping center and even more poeple. I ate at the local Maku on the
OsakaOsakaOsaka

Near Osaka station.
street and I bought some clothes and a watch from a store called Who's Who. I even almost bought a man purse...LoL...apparently all the young guys in Japan carry around what looks like a purse to the average American...socially acceptable here but maybe not in America..LoL..I think I will pass for now though : )

My trip back to Kyoto station left me tired which led to confusion on how to get back. I spent nearl 980 Yen to get to Kyoto and I should've transfered trains to Honozono which would have taken me home. Instead I became lost and confused and I exited the station and had to pay another 280 Yen in order to get back on the right train. I know how to get back in the future though. Next time I will most definately spend more time in Osaka.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

BikesBikes
Bikes

Bike parking near the station.
CrossingCrossing
Crossing

Lots of people waiting to cross the street in Osaka.
Down the streetDown the street
Down the street

Walking down the street
KFCKFC
KFC

A KFC in Osaka.
Electronics StoreElectronics Store
Electronics Store

A major electronics store in Osaka that is nearly 8 levels.
Best Buy on SteroidsBest Buy on Steroids
Best Buy on Steroids

How can people shop in this chaos?
So many peopleSo many people
So many people

People shopping in the store.
A big TV.A big TV.
A big TV.

This is by far the largest television screen I've ever seen! It had the number 60 on it so I'm guessing 60cm???
OsakaOsaka
Osaka

Dusk in Osaka
Osaka skyscraperOsaka skyscraper
Osaka skyscraper

A tall building in Osaka.
A street at nghtA street at nght
A street at nght

A local Osaka street at nighttime.


16th September 2008

It looks like you are having so much fun! I am so happy for you and I miss you!!
16th September 2008

Gosh...
I do not see any homeless people lurking around the subway or in the streets at night. Whats up with that??! Besides that everything looks great!!
26th September 2008

Shopping!
Yeah...hope you don't spend everything you got before you get a job! LOL Stay safe! God bless!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb