Nihon! (Japan!)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto
September 10th 2008
Published: September 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

NWA Flight 69NWA Flight 69NWA Flight 69

The 747 that would take me to Japan.
So all the months of anticipation, planning, and stress have finally paid off! I left Atlanta around 4 in the morning for my 7 AM fliight as described in my previous entry. I arrived in Detroit around 9AM for a 6 hour layover before my flight to Osaka. During my flight I was lucky not to be sitting directly next to someone and I was able to stretch out for the good majoirty of the flight. I watchted "What Happens in Vegas," various infomercials and I drifeted in and out of "Speedracer." We flew over Canada, Alaska, and then back down over the Pacific ocean toward Japan. I was confused by this at first but then I realized the Earth is not flat and a straight line is not always the best route to travel..lol...

I was only able to sleep for a couple of hours but I managed to get enough sleep in without feeling tired the next afternoon when we arrived. Flight 69 touched downin Osaka just after 6PM local time and right after that the sun had begun to set. Immigration an customs was a breeze and my bags arrived about ten minutes after I began to
Japan Beginning 006Japan Beginning 006Japan Beginning 006

My boarding pass and passport.
wait at the luggage line. Before departing for Japan I made a reservation for a taxi to my dormitory. They were waiting there for me as promised and I was also lucky enough to meet another Ritsumeikan student named Bryan from Cincinnati that would take the same shuttle as me.

When I arrived at my dorm my Japanese house buddy Junco, and the house manager Takazumi where waiing on me to help me get my things up to my room. I also met a girl name Ai and a kiwi (New Zealander) named Felix who was nice enough to show me around Kyoto the next day.

I did not sleep much on the first night but I was able to goto sleep around 3AM JST only to awake to the beaming sun at 6AM! Japan dosent have daylight savings time so mornings are alot brighter and evenings are alot darker than they are back in Atlanta. My day started around 11AM as Felix and I began our bike ride to the local grocery stores. I purchased some milk, bread, peanut butter, and believe it or not...Frosted Flakes, and Doritos. Of course the packaging is different and the taste
Japan Beginning 009Japan Beginning 009Japan Beginning 009

A train systme in the Detroit Airport transports passengers throughout the terminal.
is as well but its the closest thing to American food since I have been here. Maybe I should make an effort to seek out Maku (McDonalds). After the grocery store I spent sometime eating and then took a brief nap and after that off to the store again to buy some things for my dorm room. I went to a Japanese dollar store ( 100 Yen Shop) and bought some things for my room. And since I am still on east coast time I passed out at 5PM JST (4AM in Atlanta) and slept until midnight which is why I'm up at 3AM JST writing on this blog! LoL....Hopefully I can get over my jetlag in the coming days. Later on today I have to get my alien registration card (sounds weird hearing that) and I may go look at cell phones with my American friend Bryan. More updates to come soon!


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Japan Beginning 012Japan Beginning 012
Japan Beginning 012

A shot of Terminal A in the Detroit Airport.
Window SeatWindow Seat
Window Seat

A view from my window seat.
Japan Beginning 020Japan Beginning 020
Japan Beginning 020

Just a shot inside the plane.
Japan Beginning 023Japan Beginning 023
Japan Beginning 023

Me on the flight to Japan.
Japan Beginning 024Japan Beginning 024
Japan Beginning 024

Somewher over Canada.
Japan Beginning 025Japan Beginning 025
Japan Beginning 025

Maybe over Alaska???
Airplane FoodAirplane Food
Airplane Food

Yummm...airplane food!
JapanJapan
Japan

Approaching Japan
KIXKIX
KIX

On the ground at Kansai International Airport.
Japan Beginning 035Japan Beginning 035
Japan Beginning 035

Pulling up to the gate.
My roomMy room
My room

My dorm room at Rits International House 1.
7/11 Food7/11 Food
7/11 Food

My first meal in Japan.
Japan Beginning 038Japan Beginning 038
Japan Beginning 038

A view from my window.
Japan Beginning 040Japan Beginning 040
Japan Beginning 040

Walking out to breakfast in my neighborhood.
Japan Beginning 041Japan Beginning 041
Japan Beginning 041

These streets are so small.
Japan Beginning 042Japan Beginning 042
Japan Beginning 042

Whoa is that Vitamin Water?!
Japan Beginning 043Japan Beginning 043
Japan Beginning 043

An average Japanese grocery store.
New method of transport.New method of transport.
New method of transport.

Me riding a bike around town.
SquidSquid
Squid

You don' t see this everyday back in Atlanta.
Frosted FlakesFrosted Flakes
Frosted Flakes

A good ol american cereal.
Japan Beginning 049Japan Beginning 049
Japan Beginning 049

I can' believe I found these!


10th September 2008

YAY!
I'm so glad you made it to Japan safely!!! OMG, I so wish I was there with you. I miss Japan sooooo much! Get use to eating a lot of bento boxes, they are actually really good and you have to hit the noodle soup vendors on the street. Yummy! Thanks for the updates, keep them coming!!!
11th September 2008

Silly MAN
I am glad you made it there safely. Thanks for calling?!!!! Just kidding. Hope you have a lot of fun and enjoy your chips and vitamin water because we all know that is how you stay healthy. Anywho, I see you make friends fast. Be safe and get super smart. Love Ya, SJ
11th September 2008

Well....
The squid probably tastes like chicken...just put some ketchup on it. Just do your own cooking. Thanks! jb
26th September 2008

Great!
Sounds like you got a lot to see....I like seeing it with you with your photos. Be careful! God bless!

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb