Day 05: Goodbye Ishigaki, Hello Naha (Jan 2018)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa » Naha
January 25th 2018
Published: March 24th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Thursday, 25th January 2018

I planned some activities in Ishigaki city this morning before catching my flight back to Naha the same evening.

It was a long walk from my hotel to the Yaeyama Peace Memorial Museum as I braved through the morning cool temperatures. On my way, I passed by a large park where the World Peace Bell is located.

The Peace Memorial Museum is not a large building and this is often overlooked by visitors travelling to Ishigaki. Basically, it recounted the tragic fate of many Ishigaki city residents as they were forced out of their homes during the Second World War. Many succumbed to malaria disease which was rampant throughout the island.

As part two of my museum hopping activities, I also dropped by at the Yaeyama Museum for a brief visit before proceeding to the post office to mail some postcards home.

After lunch and coffee, it was time for me to pack my bags and say goodbye to Ishigaki as I made my way back to Naha.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb