Two good reasons not to be an emperor


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okayama
October 10th 2007
Published: October 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Kōrakuen translates as 'the garden for taking pleasure later'. Apparently it is named after a Chinese proverb which says the emperor should suffer sorrow before his people, and pleasure after them'.

Kōrakuen is rated as one of the top three parks in Japan. I personally disagree with rating everything, I prefer my own opinion to the official version ;-). That said, it's a nice place and even with the thankfully not too big a crowd (comes with being in the top three I guess) there's spaces to sit and soak it in. It was a beautiful day, but at that time of year you have to go without the cherry trees in bloom, the leaves turning red and the snow scenes.

"You've got to check out Kurashiki" I'd been told. 'Hmm, yeah, I spose I have got most of a day to kill' I thought as Kurashiki was announced as we pulled in to the station ten minutes from my planned destination. 'Why not?' so I grabbed my bag and jumped off. After not seeing the obvious overhead sign pointing me to take a left exit from the station, I turned right, out another exit over an overpass and down the stairs. Ok, this isn't looking like where I'm wanting to go. So I stopped and asked directions. One Lady, if you don't know please don't just make it up conversation later and I decide to find my own way. Ten minutes later and I'm in the historical quarter walking along the museum and warehouse-turned-shop lined canal.




Not a bad place to fill in an hour or so, which was all the time I spent there. Places to go, things to see.......




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

KōrakuenKōrakuen
Kōrakuen

Just borrow Okayama Castle for this one.....
Kōrakuen carpKōrakuen carp
Kōrakuen carp

Pity about the lawn clippings.......
Kōrakuen carpKōrakuen carp
Kōrakuen carp

"Tabete! Hayaku tabete!" "Eat it! Quick, eat it!" Quite amusing watching this little girl urging the fish as though it was the last food they were going to see - they knew better!
MomotaroMomotaro
Momotaro

Momotaro the 'Peach Boy' (legend has it) emerged from the stone of a peach. With the help of a monkey, a pheasant and a dog defeated a demon leader and his army. Looks like a few more birds joined them ..... ;-)


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb