Watching The All Blacks


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Oita
October 9th 2019
Published: October 15th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Hi All,

With a week off work with it being national holiday in China I took the opportunity to go to Japan and see a game in the Rugby World Cup. I wanted to go and see England v Argentina in Tokyo but I couldn't manage to buy a ticket so I plummed for a chance to see the All Blacks play Canada.

I flew to Hiroshima from Hong Kong via Taipei. I arrived in Hiroshima at around 8 pm. I did have to answer a lot of questions at immigration and they were not too happy that I didn't have a reservation at any hotels. Customs also had so many questions and they went through all my luggage.

Once I had finally got into the country I took the airport bus into the city which dropped us off at the train station. I walked around for a bit near the station before I found a hotel.

Up early in the morning and off to the station. I bought a ticket to Oita, where the game was being played, at the ticket office at the train station. The people in the booking office spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful. I had to take the bullet train to Kokura and then change to the Sonic train to Oita. I met a few American rugby fans who were travelling to a game in Fukuoka where they were playing France.

I stayed the Daiwa Hotel which was a 10 minute walk from the train station. I arrived a little early so I went for some ramen noodles a short walk from the hotel. Whilst eating my noodles I got chatting to some ladies from Taiwan who were also there to see the rugby game.

Free buses were laid on to take us to the stadium. Getting into the stadium was very easy and there were plenty of volunteers who were all very enthusiastic and helpful.

I had great seats sitting about 8 rows from the front directly behind the Canadian bench. I was sat next to a Japanese family and the little girl, about 8 years old, made friends and was keen to practice her English. She was very excited to see the All Blacks and especially keen to see them do the hakka.

The game was great with a fantastic atmosphere. I have watched alot of New Zealand rugby, Super Rugby and Mitre 10 cup, so it was awesome to see the players that I have watched on the TV. We also witnessed World Cup history as all three Barrett brothers scored tries which had never happened before.

Enjoy the photos

JAH BLESS


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb