Days of Reflection


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Nagasaki » Sasebo
May 10th 2009
Published: May 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Walk to Pearl Sea


WalkingWalkingWalking

They engineer everything around here it seems.
It's a totally unfortunate event when people can't appreciate a town for being a town. Of course any time a sailor (either civilian or military) pulls into port a little "unwinding" needs to be done, I just can't fathom the need to drink myself to pain every day though. I didn't even find it fun in college! Oh well, I suppose that some people need escapism or some such term. Where's a psychiatrist when you need one?

With that being said, I felt the need to really explore things. I course, I'd prefer to go with someone, but everyone has other things to do and who am I that I can't go by myself? So... backpack in tow, I walk off for adventure and water. I haven't been to the West yet... sounds like a good place to start. 3 miles later, I'm at a place called Pearl Sea. It's not much of a town but it is definitely my style in terms of a lazy Sunday afternoon, lounging next to the water at a park. There were dogs and people throwing frisbees, vendors selling ice cream and newly made families everywhere enjoying one another's company. It was
Pearl SeaPearl SeaPearl Sea

I totally can read Japanese... okay, maybe not.
a great place to veg and looks like a good place to remember if/when I ever get back here. There is a small ferry terminal that leads over to nameless (to me anyway) and countless small islands. From some of the picutres, I gathered that there was a resort on one of the islands. Pearl City... I bet they farm oysters too. I'm such a genius sometimes. It was definitely good.

Today, to further have some "me" time and in an effort to chill out and relax while I have the opportunity to do so, I got myself a hotel room with a bathtub and internet connection. 😊 Yes, it's not much... it just means I can stay away from the ship for as long as I like. BATHTUBS are awesome! I'd pay so much money to get one on the ship. 😊 Yeah, dream on...

No work tomorrow, we've gotten duty section only liberty. Tonight might be a Terumi-san and Jack Johnson bar night. What was I saying about escapism? I forget... must be my minor touch of ADD.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Shops at the PavilionShops at the Pavilion
Shops at the Pavilion

Dive shop, cute little ice cream shops, and other odds and ends.
Pirate ShipPirate Ship
Pirate Ship

"I gotta get me one of these!"
"Caspian""Caspian"
"Caspian"

Not really, but I enjoyed the book. Think Jeremy would go for buying one of these?
Bow SpiritBow Spirit
Bow Spirit

Reminds me of Singapore
Sun SalutationsSun Salutations
Sun Salutations

It would be cool to do yoga here.
Italian anyone?Italian anyone?
Italian anyone?

Don't know how much I would trust this place.
Small IslandsSmall Islands
Small Islands

This way to the Pearl Resort
Land of the Rising SunLand of the Rising Sun
Land of the Rising Sun

It would be beautiful here.
It's me!It's me!
It's me!

Some sweet little lady offered to take a picture.


Tot: 0.456s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.4225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb