Perfection, 5 Lakes of Fuji


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Mt Fuji
August 13th 2007
Published: August 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 1


I am sitting writing this blog at Ks House, I think this is the first time I have written my blog whilst traveling, its a nice change. Today Cate, her mum and I hired a car in Shizuoka and headed to see the 5 Fuji Lakes. The traffic was a disaster, I haven't seen so much traffic before on that road and I have been on it many times. The long busy road lead us to the beauty of lake Motosu. It was a little magical for me, I felt like I was not in Japan. The water was so cool and refreshing and the atmosphere was alive. People were in small boats, windsurfing, snorkling, swimming and fishing. It was brilliant I just wanted to jump in there with them. The lake had the a perfect backdrop of mountains all lush and green. The breeze was blowing and the sky was a stunning clear blue it is a must see.
From there we headed just a little way up the road to Lake number 2, Lake Shoji. This is the smallest of the 5 lakes, however it helped its own beauty. It too was surrounded by mountains and when we arrived there were rowing races happening. It was strange to see lines marked out and number in the lake.
Back in the car and off to ake number 3, Lake Saito, at first I was saying to Cate that the lake looked smaller than the other lake until we headed around the corner and little it was not!! There were families having a little swim and Cate ran back to the car to put on her bathers and took a dip herself. her mum and I watched from the shore. I felt very at peace sitting at all the lakes. I didnt have a care in the world and Shizuoke felt 1000 of miles away.
Feeling a little tired we thought we would head to our hostel which was a adventure in itself. After putting the phone number into the GPS off we went on our Merry way, all was good until the GPS told us we were at Ks but we were at someones house. The lovely Japanese man rang the hostel for us, drew us a map and sent us cheerfully on our way. WE MADE IT!!!! Thanks to the lovely man.....
Where we are staying is a 5 minute walk from Lake Kawaguchi and have a lovely view from our tradition Japanese room, which is just like my bedroom, minus the lovely screen door...................
The sun was setting, the perfect time for a walk around the lake. Two hours later and many beautiful photos take we called it a day and headed for dinner. On the walk I felt like I should have been on the French Rivera or in Greece with the likes from the building on the mountainside shinning onto the water, it was stunning and not at all what I thought I would find in Japan or have seen in the 8 months I have been here.

Day 2


We got up bright and early......already hot and headed to the last Lake, Yamanaka. It i the biggest of the Lake but I would have to say it had the least impact on me. Of course there were stunning mountains surrounding it but the atmosphere was different, it didnt have the same magical feel as the other 4 lakes. We took a boat cruise on board a duck boat which was lovely and relaxing. After getting back we spent the rest of the afternoon at Lake Kawaguchi soaking up the sun and drinkinf ice coffee in a little Italian cafe on the water.
Mt Fuji was spotted several times today, a love that Mountain, I do think it looks more beautiful in winter when it is snow capped.Cate's mum was very excited and the camara snapped away many many photos of the stunnng mountain that is Fuji. The 3 days away were extremely relaxing and I great way to finish my vacation time.


Additional photos below
Photos: 39, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



21st August 2007

Lady of the Lake
Some great shots and it looks like you had a lovely relaxing time... should of got your gear off for a swim though!!
21st August 2007

Nice Pics!
Gotta love those lakes and THAT mountain!!! Think it'll be a while before my Fuji Five Lakes blog is up!
22nd August 2007

bec your pics of the lakes are great you are looking lovley as usual xoxo
28th August 2007

Great photos
My goodness the pictures just seem to get more beautiful and you are looking pretty good and totally happy.
4th September 2007

The lakes look really beautiful. I only went to Lake Kawaguchiko.

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0841s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb