Sendai Pageant of Starlight 2008


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Miyagi » Sendai
December 15th 2008
Published: December 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Pageant 10 secs
2: skating! 16 secs
It's that time of year again! Winter is frosting everything together and making laundry somewhat time consuming. It's also Sendai's Pageant of Starlight again!

Jozenji-dori is a huge shinny mass of pretty trees, people, and yaki imo (grilled sweet potato) going down it's long street. I made the annual pit stop with my new co and her BF. It was gorgeous and lots of fun to walk around and enjoy such a winter sight.

Along with the lights a skating rink has been set up outside for the public! A couple of my co-workers and I went together and skated for a couple hours. It was cold, but it was great fun to watch all the kids and "cool" guys trying out fancy skating tricks and falling all over themselves. There were a bunch of yatai (food venders) set up around the rink, so we got to enjoy a bunch of good food and get a little exercise it. I have to admit, it's been at least 3-4 years since I have been ice skating. I was way out of practice. I didn't fall though! Go me!

A funny side note to mention. Apparently, the current figure skating Olympic Gold Medal winner is from Sendai! I was talking to my student about it the other day. On Tuesday; which is a holiday as the Emperors birthday, she is going to be skating at the same little skating rink! I can hardly believe it! We will see if it's in the cards for me to go see her. Since it's a 3 day weekend, I'm not so sure that it will happen.

My co-workers and I took funny pictures and pretended to be in the olympics while grading how well other fell. Nobody received the 10.0. Too bad!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



15th December 2008

OMG
it's so decked out!!!! i'm jealous XO raleigh never gets that awesome looking for xmas. and HOW DO THEY GET THE LIGHTS OUT OF THE TREES AFTERWARDS?! GOD what a PAIN. XD at least it looks like you had a good time skating!
15th December 2008

Merry Christmas!
I love seeing all the lights again. The pictures of you and your co-teachers ice skating are wonderful. What great fun! Merry Christmas! LebdaWhen

Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 107; dbt: 0.1389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb