Sendai Pageant of Starlight


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Miyagi » Sendai
December 14th 2007
Published: December 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This week was the start of the Sendai Pageant of Starlight; which is a beautiful light display in the trees along Jozenji-dori. Lucky for me it is a quick walk to get to all the action. I was going out for dinner the other night when I found all the trees shinning with bright lights. It is absolutely gorgeous and a must see for anybody in the area. It's a small affair but there area some venders set up with food. My co and I walked down it and then headed for some Italian food. Sendai has a bunch of Italian places. It was ridiculously cold here last night. Though the walk was cold it was a lot of fun to see all the lights. A very nice way o end the day.

I have been sitting in 3 layers plus 3 blankets and the sleeping in a hoodie and 3 blankets these days. I have never been so cold in my whole life. My co said, "I get a little depressed when I remember that I'm going back to a cold apartment" and I completely agree with this statement. Central heating is a beautiful and amazing thing. I wish the Japanese would get it sometime soon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



15th December 2007

ha ha... I have heard people say that they have never been so cold in their lives as when in Australian winter... We also dont have central heating... but i think it is colder in japan. Maybe it uses a lot of electircity? or the houses are older than when central heating was invented?
16th December 2007

i think it's the price of electricity and the energy output. i have a small space heater and it doesn't heat up all that much. the lack of insulation is also a big part of how cold it is here as well. whenever i go back home i'll be so happy for insulation and central heating. i'll be soaking it up for days!
18th December 2007

Cold
I am so sorry that you are so very cold! If it makes you feel any better it was 27 degrees in North Carolina this morning. Dad says he is ready for another snow storm (like the 2 feet we had in 2000). Guess I better fill the pantry with supplies. We would love for you to send a couple of inches of your snow here for Christmas. Sending warm (and loving) thoughts your way! LebdaWhen

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb