Sendai, Miyagi Part 2


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Miyagi » Sendai
October 21st 2007
Published: October 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I decided that today was going to be my Sendai Tourist Day, or one of them anyway. I have to say that I really enjoyed myself for the morning and most of the afternoon. I did most of the city on foot and the hike up to Sendai-jo was worth it. Even if there really isn't a castle there to walk around in. The day started out beautiful, in the low 70's I think and only just recently became cloudy and overcast.

I left the apartment around 10:15 this morning and set out with my trusty guide (LP for those who care) and headed up to Sendai-jo by foot. I figured that it would be a better way for me to see the city I live in and also, I didn't really want to sit in the congested tourist bus that Sendai has. It took me about an hour or so to get to Sendai-jo but the hike did me good and the views of the city were so worth it. Absolutely free and the view was amazing. I enjoyed some free time, for about 45 minutes really, took some pictures, got some grilled corn and ramune from a small vendor set up. While I was grabbing my corn one of the local guides was standing nearby and asked me if I wanted a picture of me with the famous Date Masamune statute that is on the grounds. With my small snack in my hands no less. To explain, Date Masamune is the famous daimiyo who relocated to Sendai during the Tokugawa Period. He is the founder of Sendai and obviously is a very big deal in the city. The castle, along with much of anything historic in Sendai, was destroyed during WWII during American fire attacks and bombing.

While I was at the castle I saw what looked like a giant white Buddha in the distance. I was hoping that I would be able to figure out what it was but I never did. I'll have to ask somebody at school I think.

I walked around the gift shops and finally gave my feet a rest and grabbed the tourist bus. It was pretty packed with other tourists who didn't want to walk the miles to the next stop. I rode the bus till I got back into the city and followed it around again to get to the Zuiho-den, or Masamune's rebuilt mausoleum. Along with the castle, the original Zuiho-den was destroyed during WWII but was rebuilt in the 1970's. The Loop Line, Sendai's tourist bus, stops right at the foot of the hill you have to march yourself up. The mausoleum's are beautiful and still very colorful, you can tell where the money goes at this site. There are 2 routes at Zuiho-den. Route 1 is Date Masamune's mausoleum and route 2 takes you to Date Tadamune and Date Tsunamune's mausoleums. Both sites are beautiful and worth the admission fee but the best walk I had was off to the side and lead you to an old Children's Cemetery. For the first time in 3 weeks I can honestly say the only thing I could hear was my own breathing. No cars, no horns, no people next door, just myself and some moss covered stones. It was just what I needed.

Around the mausoleum was the Children's cemetery, a small settlement of houses that were just too cute in my opinion and then a newer cemetery was right on the way down to the mail street. With a very urban backdrop it was one of those perfect photo-ops that you always want in a foreign country. Sadly my batteries started to die at this point and a lot of good pictures were lost.

After the cemetery I was searching for a place to eat. I walked along the Hirose-gawa River and on my way back to the main city I found this little katsudo place, called Katsudon House. One 4 tables in the whole place and the food was amazing. The best katsudon I have ever eaten. The owner was really nice and asked where I was from and when I told him I was working with Amity he got a big smile on his face. Really made the day that much more special in my opinion. I walked back through Aoba-dori and found a small France festival going on in the arcade. I didn't stop to look but they did have performers showing off to a small audience.

Tomorrow Yama-dera with my co and then a new week of work! Halloween lessons start on Thursday!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Praying MantisPraying Mantis
Praying Mantis

look what i found by the river
Such a cool houseSuch a cool house
Such a cool house

I love this house and I want to live in it


21st October 2007

Lebdawhen
Hey Kathryn - this is a great addition, I feel like I now know a lot more about Sendai. Is that a chocolate banana in your hand in the picture of you? We are so glad that someone took your picture! The picture are all beautiful - lucky you to be in such a great city. Love you, PKDL & Co.
21st October 2007

Silly Tourist
That definitely sounds like any other tourist trap, lol! Just reading it made me remeber the Wright Brother's monument - and not being able to walk on the grass. I think it will be interesting to watch you drop weight in all your pictures the longer you stay in Japan! Guess we'll have to wait and see! WHooO! for tourism!
22nd October 2007

its roasted corn actually and it was very good. just what i needed after the hike up to the castle. i'm still going to try and find out what the white buddha was. i really want to go there.

Tot: 0.377s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 104; dbt: 0.3287s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb