Greetings from Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
November 5th 2006
Published: November 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Blaine, Cathy and me in WhitehorseBlaine, Cathy and me in WhitehorseBlaine, Cathy and me in Whitehorse

Getting together with old friends!
Today is a long travel day as we head to Kyoto, Japan, with a fuel stop in Russia along the way. Blaine was kind enough to take me to Superstore in Whitehorse yesterday so I could stock up on walnuts, cranberries, (and a bit of chocolate) so I could have my snacks on the flight. The crew is very generous with the big bottles of water (and the booze, I might add!). I’m focusing on the water intake so that I don’t get dehydrated 

It’s been fun getting to know some of the people on this flight. Even though we are separated into groups (Blue, Green and Red), there are plenty of opportunities to spend time with everyone else.

The flight is comfortable, with lots of space for everyone to spread out. I enjoy being at the back of the plane. We had a fuel stop in Russia (I was thinking of Sveta today!!!), which was very interesting as we were all taking pictures of the different planes at the terminal, the bunkers along the runway, etc. Then we were told (by the Russians) that we were not supposed to be taking pictures. (I already had mine downloaded
Coming into WhitehorseComing into WhitehorseComing into Whitehorse

Coming into our first landing.....in Whitehorse.
onto the computer as we sat on the tarmac for a while.)

We crossed over the International Date Line and lost a day; it is now 1:00 p.m. Sunday for us, with expected arrival in Japan at around 4 p.m. We will be having dinner shortly (which was loaded on the plane in Russia) and have choices of Siberian chicken, Siberian stew or Siberian salmon. Hmmmmm

Update: It is now Monday morning, 6:20 a.m. (thank goodness I have a room-mate who is a morning person like me!) What a long travel day yesterday! Oh my goodness.....my body isn't sure what day it is or what time it is! We arrived at the hotel and were entertained by some of the different things.......such as a heated toilet seat (why doesn't that exist in Edmonton?????), cute little slippers and kimono-type housecoats, smaller beds, etc. Dinner was an extraordinary buffet in a private room for our group. Food ranged from Beef pilaf to sushi, tempura, shrimp, smoked salmon, sandwiches, to vanilla ice cream and green tea mousse cake for dessert. (Yes, Rebecca, green tea is everywhere here......in fact, I am having kelp green tea with plum as we "speak" .....yum!)
Boarding passes to Japan in hand!Boarding passes to Japan in hand!Boarding passes to Japan in hand!

Time to head out on the big adventure...

Thank you for all your comments. I really enjoy your feedback too. I was so glad to hear that Diann's conference was such a success. No surprise there! Congratulations Diann!

Weather was hot and sticky when we left the airport, but not unbearable. Hotel is gorgeous! It is the Rihga Royal Hotel in Kyoto, if you want to look it up. No Fitness Center, but there is a HUGE pool/sauna/etc. And.......(yes, this will be a shock to some of you), when we have free time this afternoon, I will be working out in the pool!!!! My skinny jeans are now put away, and it's time for tank tops and capri pants. Today's agenda includes a tour of the city, a trip to Nijo Castle, the Nishijin Textile Hall (where we will see a Japanese Kimono Show), and then a visit to the Kinkakuji Temple (Golden Pavilion). Dinner tonight is quite "glam" at the "Top of Kyoto" (revolving) restaurant in this hotel.

Stay tuned for more.......with pictures. Sayonara!

Happy Pat



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Me and John (staff supervisor) on Icelandic AirMe and John (staff supervisor) on Icelandic Air
Me and John (staff supervisor) on Icelandic Air

What a great travel crew we have! ....and not too bad to look at either!
This is what Siberia really looks like!IThis is what Siberia really looks like!I
This is what Siberia really looks like!I

Heading into Russia for a fuel stop!
Love is in the air!ILove is in the air!I
Love is in the air!I

My new friends, Gail and Kevin from Manitoba, enjoying the flight!
Coming into RussiaComing into Russia
Coming into Russia

This was an interesting stop!


6th November 2006

Love the pics!
Being a visual person, I love the pictures. You can't add enough as far as I'm concerned. How is your time-zone dicombobulation going? Heathed toilet seats. hmmm, you could be onto something. E.
6th November 2006

Pictures...
Wow! I love hearing about your trip, thanks for including me! Keep the photos coming...I love touring the world from your camera! Blee
6th November 2006

Miss ya!!
We're loving the blog!! The pictures are amazing and the kids are really enjoying these so keep downloading them!!! Take care. Love ya!
6th November 2006

WOW
so glad things are going great - enjoooooooy the moment marg great to see the photos
6th November 2006

You're going a great job
Hi HP! It was great to come into work this morning and get your updates. Since I'm living vicariously through you, I wanted to let you know you are doing a great job. The pics are great and the stories even greater. I love the idea of the heated toilet seats. I know you are extremely busy with the tour so really appreaciate your taking time to update the blog and download the pics. Enjoy!
6th November 2006

I love Kyoto too
Hi Pat, I have been to Kyoto twice, the last time two years ago for the Rotary International Convention. The Golden Temple is my favourite place. Kyoto is the most beautiful city in Japan. Enjoy! Judy
7th November 2006

still keeping an eye on you
Hi Pat, Greetings from Shanghai. It looks like you are having a great time. Love reading the play by play. Enjoy! J
7th November 2006

Too Cool!!
Hi Pat, What an adventure! I am having fun following your journey and love the photos. Looking forward to your next update :) Hugs, Cassandra
7th November 2006

Keeping an eye on me, are you?
Geez, now that was a surprise getting a message from YOU, Jeffrey!!!! What fun to hear from you, and you are so close too......in Shanghai, no less. I am having a blast. I have met the most interesting people, enjoying the food, loving the scenery. Life is indeed very good these days! Keep following along because, apparently, the adventure truly begins in India (as you know), and Africa........ Take care, "Helen"

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb