Brrrrrr, from Whitehorse


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Yukon » Whitehorse
November 4th 2006
Published: November 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Good morning to all of you! Thank you for your comments and messages. I love hearing from you!

So.......let me just say this.......THIS is THE way to travel, my friends! Wow! When we left the airport hotel yesterday morning in Toronto, I expected the shuttle to be taking us to one of the Terminals at the Toronto airport.......and then I was planning on heading to Starbucks, so I could begin my journey with a Chai latte (my favorite!). No........the shuttle made an unexpected turn, and we headed to a separate terminal where all the private planes/jets are parked. Wow. We were taken into a special terminal that was just for our group and our private plane was waiting on the tarmac. No lineups, no security, no hassles. Bags were loaded and we were on our way, on time.

The plane is awesome. The crew is incredible. They had to undergo many intensive interviews to be selected for this exclusive assignment. They are special! We began the journey with champagne and orange juice (and I was looking for a latte??????? Geez......).

Have any of you seen the movie "The Legend of the Travelling Pants" (starring the young gal who plays "Ugly Betty")???? Well, my journey is all about The Story of the Skinny Jeans. After 6 months of intensive work and discipline at the gym, I got into my skinny jeans last week. And, not only did I get into them, I could pull up the zipper, sit down, and......breathe! I wore them on the plane yesterday. Quite comfortable! My goal: to be wearing these same jeans, with the same level of comfort, as we finish our tour flying from Iceland back to Toronto!!!! That's the goal. Watch for the picture.

I took some great pictures yesterday as we flew into Whitehorse. It was a beautiful, sunny (crisp) day and I got some good shots. I'm not in a position right now to upload the pictures but will do that soon.

The flight was comfortable. I was met at the airport by my very dear friend Blaine Rapp! We worked together for the City of Fort Saskatchewan 20+ years ago! So nice to see him (you'll see the pictures later). He and his wife joined me for a drink. Then, along came Cathy Morton-Bielz, who also lives here and with whom we also worked in Fort Saskatchewan. How cool was that? Thank you all for spending the time with me. It was great to catch up. Cathy's husband Andy also joined us. What fun!

Then, it was off to join my tour group for dinner. We had a fantastic meal. There was a music quartet playing during dinner. The menu included a Tequila Tomato soup with Bannock; a choice of cedar plank salmon (yes......that's what I had!) or Bison Beef Wellington (which was far too heavy to put into my stomach at that time of night......"body-wise" it was already 10:30 p.m. for me). The salmon was great. For dessert, vanilla ice cream with a green tea syrup. Yum!

Then, it was off to bed. I met some great people on the flight. Most of you know that I plan on chatting/interviewing all of them because I believe everyone has a story. You'll hear about these people along the way. My room-mate arrived at 12:45 a.m.; she had the travel day from hell yesterday (she lives in Lloydminster, Alberta). She wasn't too pleased when we all had a wake-up call at 6:30 a.m. ......(which, for me, is 9:30 a.m. and I was wide awake well before that anyway).

It's a glorious day. It will be crisp and cold here today, so......Japan here we come! I'm sooooooo excited! Thanks for following along. More to come. We have breakfast shortly and our flight leaves at 11 a.m. Ahhhhh, what a life!

Bye for now,

Happy Pat

Advertisement



4th November 2006

and so it begins ....
What an awesome start .... do you think champagne and orange juice will translate to sake for breakfast in Japan?!? Enjoy. Look forward to hearing your stories and seeing your circle of friends grow.
4th November 2006

and so it begins ...
What an awesome start. Do you think champagne and orange juice will translate to sake for breakfast in Japan?!?! Looking forward to hearing your stories and seeing your circle of friends grow.
4th November 2006

Green Tea
Good day to you, H.P. (short for "Happy Pat," don't ya know!) My step daughter wants to know if they really drink green tea in Japan like she learned in school last year. Could you let me know the answer to that? By the way, the Women's Conference yesterday was brilliant...I thought of you as I downed my 18th chocolate covered strawberry from the chocolate fountain lady! I miss you already!
4th November 2006

wow - what a small world
Hi Pat! Sounds like your trip is off to a fantastic start! You seem to be proving how small the world can be - meeting up with folks from the Fort while on a private jet world tour. And a room mate from Lloyd - my moms whole family lives there - maybe they know her. Have a safe and wonderful journey to Japan.
5th November 2006

Lloydminster
Hi Dawn! Nice to hear from you! My room-mate's name is Leona Beamish. What was your mother's maiden name? Pat
6th November 2006

It's not about the destination, it's about the journey!
I'm going to sit back and live vicariously through you for the next month. I am already enjoying our journey and it's only day 1! :). I look forward to hearing about 'the others' and 'their stories'. I agree, everyone has a story. Sounds like another book Pat? Have a great day. E.
6th November 2007

Lure of trip
Now I know why Jan and Keith signed up for the trip...pampering and great food which she need not prepare. Bon voyage!
7th November 2007

Please say hello to Maud & Ned
Hello from Ottawa, Thanks for the blog, my Mom and StepDad, Maud and Ned, are with you in the green group. I appreciate being able to follow you on this incredible journey around the world! Michelle
7th November 2007

Consider it done, Michelle!
Hi Michelle, I'll be seeing Maud and Ned shortly, when we all meet for breakfast. Happy to send along greetings.........and happy to have you along on the journey!

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0725s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb