Day 1 in Japan


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto
November 6th 2006
Published: November 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Happy Birthday on boardHappy Birthday on boardHappy Birthday on board

The crew, singing a Happy Birthday son
Hi everyone,

My goodness but your notes are fun to read!!! Keep 'em coming! Leona (my room mate) is enjoying them as much as I am!!!

We had a blast today, touring Kyoto. So many new experiences. So much to see and learn. We were at temples and pavilions and the textile factory today. Saw a kimono fashion show. Beautiful!!!! Had an excellent lunch, even though much of it was strange and new.....but very tasty!!! Found my way into the kitchen (was thinking of you, Louise!!!!). Met up with some school girls at the Golden Pavilion and got a fun picture with them. And......did a one-hour workout in the pool too! Just getting ready for dinner now, which is in the revolving restaurant at the top of the hotel. What fun. I'm a lucky, lucky gal!!! I'll be posting these blogs whenever I get the chance........there may be a few in a day, and there may be a day or so when I don't get the chance. But I'm thinking of you and loving the fact that you can share this adventure with me! Some of the people on this tour are retired school-teachers (which makes me think of
Getting closerGetting closerGetting closer

Japan, here we come! This is SO exciting!
you, JoLove), some are in the construction/home development business (thinking of you, Lynn and Aiden); some are widows just out enjoying life........lots of interesting stories!

Gotta go and get ready for dinner. More later.

Happy Pat


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Nijo CastleNijo Castle
Nijo Castle

Our first stop of the day, in Kyoto
Nijo Castle GardensNijo Castle Gardens
Nijo Castle Gardens

Beautiful, serene gardens.
Where to go in the GardensWhere to go in the Gardens
Where to go in the Gardens

Beautiful, serene gardens.
The Kimono Fashion show finaleThe Kimono Fashion show finale
The Kimono Fashion show finale

Stunning young women in their kimonos
The Kimono Fashion ShowThe Kimono Fashion Show
The Kimono Fashion Show

A beautiful Geisha girl
Our lunch destinationOur lunch destination
Our lunch destination

Lunch at the Shozan restaurant
Our lunch destinationOur lunch destination
Our lunch destination

Lunch at the Shozan restaurant
Back in the kitchenBack in the kitchen
Back in the kitchen

Hey Louise and Elizabeth......look where I got to go!
The Golden Pavilion at Kinkakuji TempleThe Golden Pavilion at Kinkakuji Temple
The Golden Pavilion at Kinkakuji Temple

This place was stunning and reverant
Some fun young school girlsSome fun young school girls
Some fun young school girls

How accommodating they were, for my picture!
A typical neighborhoodA typical neighborhood
A typical neighborhood

Physical space is very limited here!
My workout for the dayMy workout for the day
My workout for the day

There was no fitness center, so I bit the bullet......and here I am in the pool! Gail from Manitoba came with me to cheer me on!
Our hotel roomOur hotel room
Our hotel room

This room is complete with kimono housecoats, dainty slippers, heated toilet seat, and a great view!


6th November 2006

WOW!!!
Hi Pat, Your blogs by e-mail are wonderfull! We can follow you through your dream!!! Great inspiration to me too! Keep up with the good time and dircovery of our beautiful planet. Thank you for taking the time to share your memories with all of us! HappYanski :-))))))
6th November 2006

enjoying your photos and text
this makes us wish we were there marg
6th November 2006

So cool!!
It's so cool to be travelling with you!
6th November 2006

What an adventure!
I am loving your blog - the pictures are very special and really add to my vicarious travels. I also appreciate all the menu descriptions because, as you know, it's all about food for me! You look great, Pat. Keep up the good work. Jet lag must not be a problem when you have your own executive schedule!.
6th November 2006

Wow! This is wonderful
Hi Pat and Leona Thanks Pat for having this blog set up this is wonderful. Say hi to Leona. I will take the message to coffee with me today they will be excited. Donna
7th November 2006

Hello Happy Pat
Hi Pat, It's so great to be able to read your blog and enjoy this trip of a lifetime with you. Have a great time and keep sending the photos...I know how much you love to take pictures so that shouldn't be a problem... :)
7th November 2006

How's your Japanese?
So, did you purchase one of those lovely Kimono's? Not sure where you would wear it around London but it would be a show stopper. It looks like you have befriended all of the crew and half of the people on the flight already and that's just like you! keep the photo's coming - they're really terrific!
7th November 2006

Wow!
Love the architecture there! Is it really crowded with people? I have to say how cool it is to hear about your trip as it's happening. Have a great time! Love ya! Kristy
21st November 2006

Best wishes on your travels
How absolutely exciting and you are so kind as to include us in your travels. Travelling is one of the best ways to stretch your boundaries of knowledge and see life from a different perspective. Your travel blog is so appreciated. Spread your sunshine around the world, girl! I know you will touch the hearts of many.

Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 71; dbt: 0.1014s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb