A week in Shikoku


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kochi » Kochi
August 31st 2008
Published: September 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Osaka skyOsaka skyOsaka sky

The sun, masked by pollution? on the bus to Kochi
The first trip away for the summer break was to Shikoku, an island kind of south west from where I'm living, and 6 hours away by bus...

Yuko (my room mate) and I headed off 3 hours after my last exam, on July 12, to stay in Kochi, where her parents are living at the moment, and near where she grew up in Ehime, for 4 nights.

Yuko's mum and dad are absolutely gorgeous people. Arriving at their house I instantly felt a part of the family- welcome to help myself to the fridge and lounge around the house in my PJs, and chatting to them like we already knew each other well.

The next day the four of us travelled around the most part of the Eastern side of Shikoku. SO handy to have a car in those areas as trains are slow, infrequent and just don't go to all of the places we visited. First we went to Konpirasan, a mountain whose 800 steps we climbed, amongst beautiful cedar forests, to get to the world heratige listed temples at the top... I was blown away by the nature of Shikoku after being in the city all
KonpirasanKonpirasanKonpirasan

Yuko's Mum and Dad, at the top
the time... So hot though!

Then we ate that area's famous udon (thick white noodles...) before going to Yashima, an island that we climbed to see the temples at the top and the beatiful view over the bay. Next was Naruto, to see the natural whirlpools in the ocean below the bridge, although because it was the wrong season they weren't so impressive... Then back through Oyushinogawa for a lovely long onsen and dinner... Would have been at least 6 hours that Yuko's dad drove for us that day. They are so generous. I am SO lucky.

The next day, Yuko's mum drove us round, and we went this time into the mountains in the centre of Shikoku. Best spot was probably Kazurabashi, where there was a old old suspension bridge that we could climb across the beautiful crystal clear water of the river. We then went to oobokukoboke, where the view of the mountains and the river was just beautiful.

The next day was just Yuko and I, exploring Kochi prefecture. Katsurahama, my first beach experience in Japan, was just breathtaking! So beautiful, and just what I had imagined a Japanese beach to be like... Felt
KonpirasanKonpirasanKonpirasan

So many stairs
so good to be out in a open space, where all I could see was the horizon. Then we travelled into the city to go to Kochi market for some sashimi don (raw fish, with rice) and Kochi castle, before going to another beach where we were allowed to swim this time... I did well and lost my locker key within the first 10 minutes... Nice work Jade. Met some nice people whilst looking for it though! Oh, and found some lovely big jellyfish!

On the last day before I headed off alone to Matsuyama Yuko and I chilled in the city, shopping, eating and chatting. It was so lovely to be with her on this trip and get to know her even better. She's just gorgeous.

Then Matsuyama. Absolutely loved it- the trams, the hot springs (stayed in Dogo, famous for its onsens), the food, the temples and most of all the freedom. This was my first time travelling alone, ever I guess, and it was GREAT! Beautiful Youth Hostel (Matsuyama YH), where I met some lovely people, and just experience after experience of lovely Japanese people I got chatting to and toured around by in the
YashimaYashimaYashima

The view from Yashima
town. Just a lovely atmosphere...


Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

NarutoNaruto
Naruto

The bridge you can see the whirpools from
KazurabashiKazurabashi
Kazurabashi

Yuko looking amazingly calm
KazurabashiKazurabashi
Kazurabashi

Gaps so big your feet could fall through
Yakiniku!Yakiniku!
Yakiniku!

Bbq meet and veggies at the kitchen table. Oh, so good!
KatsurahamaKatsurahama
Katsurahama

Not quite an Australian style 'sandy' beach as I had thought, more like pebbles, but SO beautiful!
KatsurahamaKatsurahama
Katsurahama

SO hot, yet not allowed to swim because of "unpredictably large waves"... Where???


Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0753s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb