Day 3: Journey to Kagoshima & Sakurajima (Oct 2015)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kagoshima » Sakurajima
October 20th 2015
Published: November 29th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday, 20th October 2015

After breakfast at Royal Host in Fukuoka this morning, I travelled south to the city of Kagoshima today. This was as far as the Shinkansen could bring me. I grabbed a lunch box that was too beautiful to eat from the train station. It was delicious and filling on my pleasant train ride as I arrived at Kagoshima sometime after 2pm today.

I chose to stay at the APA Hotel which was just next to the train station. This was affordable and the ramen shop next to the hotel was really good. After leaving my baggage with the reception, I was off to the Sakurajima Island for the afternoon. Getting to the island was rather straight forward with a combination of pleasant tram and boat rides. Kagoshima had an excellent network of public transportation that was easy to understand.

Once I reached the island, I joined a bus tour that brought me to the various places of interest within a span of 60 minutes. Certain stops were a bit of a rush with virtually no stopover. At the Yunohira Observatory, we were however allowed 15 minutes in order to take in the beautiful sights of the crater.

In the evening, I stopped by at Dolphin Port which afforded great sunset views of the island. My tram also took me to the Tenmonkan area, where the main shopping actions were concentrated. I was back at the train station in time for dinner where I tried the delicious Kurobuta Pork at one of the many restaurants dotted the area.

I still had 2 more days in this beautiful city and I'm quite sure this was going to be fun.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0493s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb