Naoshima


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kagawa
March 27th 2016
Published: March 27th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Herro,

So yesterday I went to the arty farty island known as Naoshima. This was highly recommended in nearly every lonely planet so before coming to Japan I wanted to go there. And it was worth it. After a 3 hour train ride on local lines and the shinkansen I arrived at uno station. From there I took the ferry to the island. The weather was really nice and it was sunny throughout the entire day, I even got a tan! So I hoped to get a bike but they were all sold out. Walking was the best option since I didn't want to take the bus. I went to the chichu art museum, where the art was illuminated solely by natural lighting. Art pieces from monet were on display as well. I have been to quite a fee museums in my life and this was the most impressive one by far. Pictures weren't allowed but the experience was enough to remember. Almost everywhere on the island there are art pieces in the open which were very nice as well. The next museum I went to was the benesse art house. A huge collection of art pieces were on display and I liked almost every one of them. From paintings to floor pieces to plain rocks displayed in a way that made them more than just rocks. I headed back to the ferry after 5 hours of art watching. I walked about 8km that day but the views were so good and breathtaking that I didn't mind it one bit. So if you ever find yourself in Japan and you like museums you HAVE to go here. It was a memorable experience all around.

Till next time,

Lou


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb