White Day, Osaka Castle, and Summo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo » Kobe
March 17th 2006
Published: March 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post


Hi Everyone,

What a week its been! Tuesday was White Day here in Japan. Its an annual celebration that happens exactly one month after Valentine´s Day. Here, its predominantly the women who give men presents on Valentine´s Day in the hopes that their sentiments will be returned one month later on White Day. Sadly, as I was told this week by more than one disgruntled Japanese woman this is seldom the case. Apparently many guys here are all to willing to accept the gifts and then promptly end the relationship before White Day arrives. I did however see several stressed out men buying wilted flowers in 7-11, so I guess not all guys forget White Day!

It was only a matter of time before it happened. Yesterday a small child, probably 2 years old cried at the mere sight of me! I was walking out of a store, she was right infront of me and just started to scream at the sight of me, it was kinda funny if only she hadn´t seemed so traumatized! Also, I had to point at the platic food in the window of the restaurant when I tried to order luch. At least the server was willing to step outside with me for a minute!

Today was my day off so I headed to Osaka Castle, which I was told is quite beautiful. I wasn´t disappointed. Its a scenic walk through a park and over a river to the Castle. Many workers were busy planting flowers and tending gardens and I was told it is all done in preparation for the arrival of the Cherry Blossom season, which is expected in a few weeks. Apparently the castle grounds are one of the best places in all of Japan to take in the blooms.

After Osaka Castle I decided it was time I do something truly Japanese, take in a summo match! There is a big tournament going on in Osaka right now so I was able to take in about 4 hours of summo, that´s a lot of summo let me tell you! But it was great, the crowd was really into it, everyone sits on small mats around the ring which is a little larger than a standard pitcher´s mound. It was just amazing to see. I sat beside a nice retired man from Kyoto who was able to give me the inside scope on who the stars of summo are! I am pretty sure that they were selling foreigners tickets in the same area because when I arrived at my seat I was surround by Canadians and Americans! Later I was able to make my way down to the center of the action. For about 1 hour I sat undetected in the ritzy expensive seats, 3 rows from the ring until I was ousted by businessman wearing head to toe Armani, but I had a great view while it lasted! It was great, you can get full Japanese meals and hot green tea delivered right to your seat!

I am off to bed as I will be teaching at a school that is fairly far from Kobe tomorrow. It takes over 1 hour on the bullet train, so I am looking forward to the ride.

Take care,
love Melissa

Advertisement



18th March 2006

Summo
Now Mel, it sounds like you really enjoyed the Summo match, just becareful if one of them starts courting you okay? (just kidding!) It sounds like you are really having a wonderful time. I am sure all your students love you! Talk to you soon! Katie
18th March 2006

Summo
Don t worry Melissa it is only cause you are so beautiful that she was crying! My dad is wondering when you are going to bring a summo wrestler home to meet the family? Miss you tons girl!

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.053s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb