Ramblings


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo » Kobe
October 31st 2006
Published: November 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Happy Halloween!

Part of the funny part about me is I don't really enjoy being alone a lot of the time (as I'm sure you've noticed if you've managed to paid attention long enough). I do my best to avoid an empty room and leave it to the sleeping. I also tend to talk to strangers enough that I have them constantly around me when I travel. So even for me traveling isn't really alone. Granted I can make my own decisions. Like I did in Tokyo there's nothing stopping me from walking out of the restaurant and onto a bus with only a two second glance at where it's going. No one to tell me they're bored and want to do something else and no one to keep me places I don't want to be. No one to freak out when I don't come back to sleep at the place I'm paying for and no one to worry about. That is, except me. Sounds pretty selfish, doesn't it. I suppose it is but that's how it works when you don't purposely set out with someone. Granted sometimes I let the "strangers" dictate part of the trip.

Sometimes someone says something to you that for whatever reason hits you hard enough to make you remember it for a long time. Sometimes those things can be really simple. About 8 years ago I was in UNC hospital looking for a water fountain. I asked a black very southern janitor and he pointed behind me and said "If it werea snake it woulda bitcha" in an extremely southern accent. Sometimes I can hear him saying it in my head.

For some reason Americans absolutely kill me to hear sometimes. I just want them to shut the frell up and listen to themselves. I think it's partially the accent but other times it's the subject matter and the way they seem to do a good job of completely ignoring what's happening in another country. I envy Barry Norris for being able to read about opinions that he totally doesn't agree with. I'd probably write an entire book protesting what they said. "They don't want loud Americans who are diong wrong things ..." like you? "They move to America and see how free they are" did you just say free ... those who move to the US (starts bursting out laughing).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.178s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1085s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb