The new in word Hai


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hyogo » Kobe
October 30th 2006
Published: November 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I love Jazz music but I don't get to hear it much out here. Right now I'm at a cute little after work place that's playing jazz over some awful electric buzzing in the kitchen (which I don't think anyone can hear but me). It's a really great relaxing place. I think all in all today has been a fairly relaxing day. After putting my pictures on a CD (which not only took 30 minutes but cost twice as much as I'm used to paying). I was shocked about the CD as I normally get it done in places with no where near the technology of Japan but who knows. I took the JR line (the cheapest train cause it's local and stops a lot) and ended up falling asleep before arriving in Himeji - the last stop. Then I went to the Himeji castle. For me, unlike the shrines and temples, the castles all start to look the same after a bit so I was really glad to have a free guide show me around and give me the story. Unfortunately I was too late in the day to get to see much else - due to the photos - so I just came here to Kobe.

"Why aren't you attracted to Japanese women? They're so cute!" someone asked me a couple days ago. That's exactly why I'm not attracted to them. They're too cute.

Granted I can't understand Japanese but from what I do get it's kind of a bit strange language "Hello? Hai! ... Hai! ... Hai! ... umm ... Hai! ... aa, Hai! Hai! Hai! ... Hai!" is a Japanese telephone conversation with some hemming and hawing in between. I love this word "Hai" means like a zillion things "here it is" "Yes" "OK" "I agree" are just a few of the many translations. I wonder what a word like this would look like in the dictionary. There are many other Japanese words like "dozo" which are the same with slightly fewer translations. It seems to be a bit like Hindi with the "san" added to everyone's name like "ji" is in Hindi and the word order is slightly similar (I think).

Japanese people have a "strange culture" I've been told by many. The only way I can see it is that they are serious party-ers in the night and then required to wear suit in the day so sometimes you'll find someone in their suit completely trashed in a bar - a strange sight to me. That and the cat that like many men they're into women but the men still do a good job of ignoring the women at times.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.02s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb