Just for Fun - Random Observations of Japan so far...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
August 10th 2009
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Melons... are popular, and also really, REALLY expensive.
Cantaloupe - 700-1000 円
Watermelo (すいか) - 1000-1800 円
A melon which looks like cantaloupe, but with a stem attached (ゆばり?) - 3500-5900 円

Clothes are either super expensive, or super cheap when on sale!

Shoes can only rarely be found in a size 8 and above.

The moths are HUGE!

Every other bug here is also HUGE!

Japanese men seem to have short legs, or at least the majority of the ones I've seen so far. (I should't stereotype. >_<)

The news seems to use various music sources to add emphasis to different stories. Most of these sources are recognizable from anime. Death Note on the latest murder.... is kind of odd to hear, and just a tad bit creepy. I've also heard music from Spiral, and Inu-Yasha. >_>

The Japanese consider the arrest of an actress for using aphetamines to be top news, for the next week and half, and going. (I don't know how long ago it happened, but it was known before I arrived, and at least 15 minutes is spent on it every news program.)

Japanese cooking is only healthy depending in the cook. But one should know this already. =]

Charmaine can't buy pants here.

I can't buy pants here, and my legs are only average, if not shorter, considering my height. >_>

Little boys here also have a lot of energy to spend running around with friends, playing video games, and thumping around the house, just like little boys everywhere else. ^_^

There are no Saturday morning cartoons here, it is Saturday anime. Cartoons are shown on normal weekday mornings (Tom and Jerry anyone?)

テレビショピング (TV shopping) is very popular over here.

Gaijin are, according to okaasan, only Americans. Therefore I am not a gaijin, because I am Canadian. >_> (I think she just wants me to feel like I fit in lol.)

Iced green tea is always bottled and bought at the local grocery store, rather than being a bit more frugal, and making it yourself.

Coca-Cola Zero is very popular here, and tastes very similar to Pepsi.

They make donuts from tofu?!

Bento are in use, and are normally quite smaller than a Westerner would expect. (Supersize Me anyone?)

It is HOT, and HUMID in Sapporo. I don't care what you say, it is! Almost as bad as Hong Kong according to okaasan.

Otaku are common, but I haven't figured out the extent of one's anime repetiore before becoming known as otaku. I would guess cosplay is automatic though.

Most work people in the city don't seem to come home until well after nine, averaging somewhere between 10 and 11 o'clock. No matter what there job seems to be. Or at least that's what I think, since my teachers were amazed when visiting Calgary that barely anyone was outside or working after 6. Duh, the day ends at 5 there rather than 8.
Japan also has a high fatality rate concerning death by overwork. =[

And, as a last note, THE BUGS ARE BIIIIIIIGGGGGGG! HUGE, SCARY LOOKING MONSTERS WAITING FOR YOU TO COME OUT ALONE AT NIGHT!

And so concluded my random, and probably untrue, observations of Japan... or at the very least, Sapporo.






Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb