Karaoke - My bane in life! =[


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
August 9th 2009
Published: August 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We went to a local karaoke "bar" this afternoon with some of Mioka's friends, including Kumi and Ahe. すごい!!!!!The interior was absolutely amazing! It looked like a hotel actually, with a spiral staircase made of marble... or something that looked like marble anyways. There are also drink fountains with as many free refills as you want. Ahe had a coupon to win some snacks, which involved me rolling a giant blow-up die. I rolled a one (いち) which isn't usually a good thing, except this once. Turns out a one was very lucky, since we got free donuts, instead of say pocky, or other less extravegant snacks. The room is fairly tiny, with a large table in the center and chairs surrounding it. However, each room has a large flatscreen TV on which to display the lyrics as well as some choice commercials promoting various singers and new albums.
Now, onto karaoke being a bad thing. Well not bad persay, just extremely difficult. First of all, I'm completely and utterly tone death. And well, the Japanese just aren't. For some strange reason (genetics perhaps?) they always seem to be able to sing fairly decently. Aka. not tone death at all, and with some vocal training, they could sounds really great! So, onto the second thing. I didn't realize that there was a list of English songs to choose from, as well as Korean adn Chinese. Thusly, I picked one of my favourite J-Pop songs to sing first. Anyone who knows Yousei Teikoku's Wahrheit knows that it is FAST. And, caught up in the excitement of it all (both at the location as well as the fact that they even had a good selection of Yousei Teikoku since she isn't particularily well known,), I completely forgot the tempo, as well as the fact that Japanese songs are written in hiragana, kanji, and katakana. I failed. MISERABLY. I think I was able to sing the last syllable of every verse. >_> Oh well. At least I learned my lesson, and Ahe showed me how to find English songs. Once again, well. At least I learned my lesson, and Ahe showed me how to find English songs. Once again, I was amazed at the variety they had. And, although there wasn't any Three Days Grace or Evanescence, there was Linkin Park! And some of the songs from Moulin Rouge, which I also tryed to sing. All in all it was a fun day. And I learned something very important:
Japanese karaoke is a great, although quite challenging, way to practice reading hiragana.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb