Camping and Exortion


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Sapporo
August 14th 2009
Published: August 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We went camping in Toya for a few days, and just got back to Nishioka yesterday evening. I HATE bugs. And yet, I think that during those few days, I am now used to them. >_> However, they still, and wil probably always, creep me out to a point.
The first day was pretty boring. We just drove up and lazed around a cabin, which they called a bungalow. However, on the way up we did buy some pretty good soft serve ice cream. The matcha flavour was actually a bit bitter, and not too sweet! =] Dinner was barbeque, something the Takemotos obviously make rarely. Most of the food ended up pretty burnt, and I often felt like doing it myself. At least I remember that the food needs to be flipped! Either way, there were a ton of moths, and Mioka and I were crying "mushi, mushi" every few steps we took to go back to the cabin.
I don't think I'm particularily fond of camping though, or at least based on this trip. My reasons being that a) the entire family snores and blow their noses all night, b) there are bugs, and c) it's too hot in Sapporo.
The second day we took a trip to the ninja museum. It isn't worth the price, and is really just a way to extort money from unlucky tourists and Naruto fans. First, you need to pay parking, about 500 yen. Then, there's the slightly outrageous entrance fee of 30, 000 yen. Ok, I'm thinking, this better be a damn good museum. At least the architecture of the ninja village is pretty. Despite this, the museum wasn't great. There were only a few displays of ordinary ninja life (ie. the ninja hair salon, and the ninja meeting room. >_>), and one room showcasing various weapons and tools ninjas would have used. The rest of the village was either shopping or various food stalls.
We also went to two shows in the "museum." One was about a geisha and a foreign lord who has no money. Even with the English translations from Mioka and the acting, I still didn't see the humor. The other was about a ninja trainee and his master needing to protect a scroll from enemy ninjas. Ok, this actually had a potential plotline. Unfortunately, it died a horrible death when the bad choreography started. This show reminded me of a bad junior high re-enactment of some kind. >_<
Luckily, there was a more positive note to day. We managed to visit an onsen, or the hotsprings. I don't know what exactly the word hotsprings entails, but I imagined it being outside. (Admittedly, I've watched too much anime, namely Ranma 1/2.) I think this was more like a public bath, but since I'm not too knowledable about this subjectg, it's likely that I'm wrong. Despite my cynacism, it was a very nice end to a long day. And best of all, no showering with bugs!!!!
(^_^)/

Advertisement



14th August 2009

こんにちは
エリアルさん こんにちは!(Or maybe it is Konbanwa for you!)(今 何時?) 日本は’たのしそう ですね。  エリアルは いろいろけいけんしていますね。(you are experiencing many things.) うらやましい! たくさん 日本語を ならっているね!(You are learning a lot of Japanese). 日本語の べんきょう を がんばって! 菊池先生
17th August 2009

おはいよう/A very early morning.
It is currently 9:12 AM August 17. (I alway forget to check for comments. =) However, at the time you wrote it was about 9:00 PM. =] I am enjoying Sapporo very much! たのしかたでした!I hope I'm learning a lot of Japanese! I just bought new manga, so the goal is to be able to read them and understand the majority of it! That, and be able to read a cook book. >_< Thank you for writing, and I hope everyone is well in Calgary!

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb