Day 07: Asahikawa - Asahiyama Zoo and Hokkaido University (Jul 2018)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Asahikawa
July 14th 2018
Published: July 22nd 2019
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, 14th July 2018

I started Day 07 of my trip in Hokkaido with a visit to the beautiful Former Hokkaido Government Office located at downtown Sapporo city. Built in 1888, I was fortunate to be able to catch hold of an outdoor concert taking place outside the red-bricked building. Since it was a Saturday when I visited, access into the building was closed.

After lingering for 30 minutes, it was time for me to bade goodbye to Sapporo and head to the city of Asahikawa where the Asahiyama Zoo is located. Touted Hokkaido's most established zoo, my visit was worth it for I could get up close to the Polar Bear who was resting comfortably in his enclosure. There was also this very adorable Japanese Red Panda as it made its way up and down the bridge.

In the late afternoon, I headed to the Hokkiado University that was famed for its Poplar Avenue. This is a beautiful campus that also housed the Hokkaido University Museum. There were plenty of green spaces and streams which made the whole visit a rather tranquil experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.726s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 17; qc: 85; dbt: 0.6193s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb