Day 1 - Sapporo to Abashiri (305 days)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hokkaido » Abashiri
December 16th 2013
Published: December 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday after I posted my entry, I actually went out and ventured into the snow. There was a snow storm earlier during the day whilst I was travelling from the airport to the hotel.



Why knew? I fell into a deep sleep when I was on the bus.

It was and hour and a half.



So when I ventured about last night, I went to find food.

Of course I went to one of the oldest and most popular restaurant - a restaurant based on sumo wrestler meals.

It's basically Japanese style fondue (hotpot) with lots of vegetables and meat.

I chose seafood.

The spider crab legs were amazing.

And so was everything else.

And I had sashimi with it, of course.



I finished the meal with a strawberry Marion Crêpe for dessert.

As usual.

They bring back so much memory. I love Marion Crêpe.



It felt strange being back in Sapporo.

Because it's been 7 years since I was last here, everything felt so familiar yet so foreign.

There were more high rise buildings and the city seemed older.

I feel older too, though the feeling was the same as seven years ago.

Especially when I got to the winter light celebration.



It looks exactly like it did back seven years ago.

And one of the light was EXACTLY the same too.

For a second I had a tear in my eye be sexy nothing has changed.

Yet everything has changed.



This morning I had a nice late start (0700) and then I head to Sapporo JR station to get the 0941 train to Abashiri.

I wanted to get the 0744 train but that was fully booked.

The train journey is just over six hours.

I was quite luckily because when I reserved my seat, I was told it's the last seat available on the train.

One of the best things I love about Japanese train is that no one sits backwards.

The seats swivel round when the train is going backwards. Admittedly if you want to go backwards then feel free.

But it's so much fun to just go "weeeeeeee..." And then spin round.

If you are a child.

Or me of course.



I picked up a famous train bento too.

They are very popular, usually quite cheap and definitely very yummy.

It's one of the underrate delicacy of Japanese food.

They always talk about how good it is in Japanese TV but not once have I seen it on foreign TV that shows tourism in Japan.

I had a winter limited version bento, and it was so good.

Everything in the box were local produce, and it was freshly made that morning.



The journey to Abashiri itself was somewhat unpredicted.

I didn't think it'd be snowing all the way.

In fact, the snow actually got heavier and heavier as the train travelled across the island.

I know it'd be colder and I know the snow would be heavier but nothing what I saw when I looked out of the window.

I dread to think how deep the snow is.

There's only about five feet of me!

The visibility was about 10 metres...? Maybe a little bit more.

So pure, so quiet.

So deadly.

It had one of those tragic romance feelings to it.



The hotel is actually about 6.5km away from the station.

Luckily the hotel went a car to pick us up which was very helpful.



Hokuten no oka is a beautiful hotel.

It has a real fire in front of reception and the decor is beautiful.

Very old school Japanese.



I ran into a bit of a problem, where the sole of my trusty snow boots fell off.

They are getting old, and the glue must have dried up.

I asked reception if they have some superglue, and managed to fix the shoe, but I think I am due for a new pair.



After dinner (buffet with everything - literally) I went for a foot soak which is inside of a Christmas tree.

I think when it's not Christmas it's just a dome with holes in it.

It is very pretty.

Then I went for a full body soak.

I even sat outside for the full experience.

I loved it seven years ago, I love it now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0613s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb