Day 10 Hiroshima


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima » Hiroshima
November 19th 2007
Published: November 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

the aftermaththe aftermaththe aftermath

taking from near enough ground zero, although the bomb was exploded at 600m
Headed of to the peace park today which is very close to the hotel. The first building is the peace museum which at 40 yen is very good value.
The museum starts with a history of Hiroshima how it became a garrison town for the 5th division and teh fact it wasn't bombed at all during the war prior to little boy being dropped. then to 8.15 am eyewitness accounts for what they were doing at the time, it is worth noting that alot of women and children were out on the street demolishing buildings to create fire breaks around the military installations in case of bombing. Well the tears were rolling down my face most people around were reacting to the story as it played out in fornt of us. Many (men) actually walked back out saying the could not handle it. The story holds no punches and is very graphic in the injuries receieved by victims after the bomb. But it is told in a balanced way, as it does mention the attrocities the Japanese inflicted on others, but non the less it was moving!
On to the peace park. nice sculptures and lots of other memorials, at the top end is the famous A Bomb building, I took some piccies and headed off to Hiroshima Castle as the city has moved on from what happened and so must I. On my way I was accousted by 4 school children who kindly introduced themselves and they were learning english, they showed me some photographs of local food explain all about it then asked me where I was from, as they left they gave me a lovely paper crane and instructions and paper to make my own...ahhh so nice of them (one of the victims of the bomb a little girl who was desperatly ill as a result of acute radiation poisioning, she wanted to make 1000 paper cranes as the belief is if you make 1000 paper cranes your wish will come true, unfortunatly she died before compleing them all, but children all over Japan to this day stil send paper cranes to the childrens memorial), Anyway Hiroshima castle, well compared to Himeji it was a bit of a damp squib, not the fault of the place as like everything here it had to be rebuilt the outside is accurate but the inside is all modern. not
The childrens MemorialThe childrens MemorialThe childrens Memorial

The cages behind hold paper cranes
for me!
Headed into the shopping district on my way to the train station. wow the stalls selling food, I could of bought something from everyone but settle on a stick of cooked baby octopuses. The caught the train to Miyajima staion then the ferry accross to Miyajima island. Here is the famous Tori gate that features in so many pictures Of Japan, the two stage cable car gave great views of Japans inland sea as it was so calm, and the wild monkeys and dear made it fun. (signs saying 'dont stare at a monkey in the eye, they dont like and will harm you, its your fault'. Made me laugh)
A lot of walking again today which is nice apart from I stumbled a bit going up the many hills in Miyajima, and my knee is killing me. Had to get a taxi back from Hiroshima train station as I could hardly stand on my leg! Good job I have two of them really, but I am going to stay in the hotel tonight, there are two restaurants so will try the other tonight. Hopefully all will be fine tomorrow as off to Kyoto tomorrow morning
The A bomb domeThe A bomb domeThe A bomb dome

Notice the crane?
which is heading back in the direction of Tokyo and have some serious walking to do there. I have an origami lesson tomorrow pm!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Oh DearOh Dear
Oh Dear

The dear at MiyaJima. They are free to go anywhere
A view of HiroshimaA view of Hiroshima
A view of Hiroshima

Accross the inland sea
A monkeyA monkey
A monkey

You had to leave you bag in the cable car station


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb