Day 9 Travel to Hiroshima Via Himeji


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
November 18th 2007
Published: November 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Himeji castleHimeji castleHimeji castle

Does it look familiar
Hi,
   Had an interesting evening last night, Teaching English to a Japanese bar owner, in return I got some japanese lessons!
Anyway got up this morining to catch the 9.42 train from Takayama to Nagoya then change there and head to Himeji. I checked out early from the Inn, they kindly gave me a set of veneered chopsticks. I was soo taken aback, these things are not cheap and soo very kind of them. I made my way to the station and kinda planned to go for a wander as i had loads of time, got talking to a woman walking her dog who is trying to learn English (another one) so she invited me to her husbands coffee shop where we chatted for a while, as i left she gave me a paper crane, it symbolises Good fortune. Again the japanese people are just so nice if you get to know them instead of sitting in a bus watching it all go by!
Caught the train, not very exciting 2.5 hours to nagoya 2 hours to himeji. Now this is the famous castle another UNESCO world heritage site used in films and dramas (you will recognise it once you see the pictures) It was nice but time was tight, arrived at himeji at 14:16 and was due to catch the 17:29 to hiroshima. went round the castle, you had to take your shoes off in the main tower and it was very busy, it was impossible to get a picture without hundreds of people in it. I bought a combined ticket that includes the castle and the gardens next door. Ohhh the gardens several walled gardens with different themes like Decidous trees, bamboo, water there was a traditional Japanese music players playing, it was very complimetary to the surroundings. I was hoping to that night fall would happen before I had to leave as they were setting up lanterns which would of made for some great shots but time was pressing so I had to shoot off.
Arrived in Hiroshima at 18:33. Nice hotel, checked in, picked up my bag, swapped overnight stuff and took my bag back down to be sent on to Kyoto. Found out that you can hire a laptop for 1,000 (just over 4 pounds) yen a night so booked it for two. brilliant value so you will be getting a few days at a time as i catch up updating you. Had dinner in the hotel as it was getting late, another strange place to eat. The menu was in french, so I ordered in french.... The blank looks I got told me they did not understand french at all! nice food though.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Let the train take the strainLet the train take the strain
Let the train take the strain

Not mine but similar


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb