Day 7: Ohori Park, Marinoa City, Fukuoka Tower, RoboSquare, Seaside Momochi Beach & Canal City (Oct 2015)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Fukuoka » Fukuoka
October 24th 2015
Published: February 7th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Saturday, 24th October 2015

I started my day early following a hearty buffet breakfast at the hotel. With a good selection of quality items coupled with tip-top Japanese service standards, this was worth my 1,200 yen. I planned to do some outlet shopping today at the Marinoa City but since it was quite early, I visited the Ohori Park first instead. Exiting from the subway station, I entered the park grounds through the Northern Gate which was already teeming with morning joggers. The centre piece of the park is a huge lake connected by a long bridge to both sides of the expansive park space.

When it was time to start my shopping day, I continued my journey towards the end of the subway line to Meinohama Station where I caught another bus to the Marinoa City. This mall didn't disappoint as it also contained my favourite ABC Mart even though I did not end up buying a lot of things. Lunch was at the McDonalds - my first fast-food meal after a week in Japan and I had the Ebi Burger. It tasted quite good actually.

Fukuoka Tower, RoboSquare and Seaside Momochi Beach were visited altogether in the afternoon since they were closed to one another. I didn't end up paying to enter the observatory since I had my fair share of city views the day before. I did enjoy posing at the tower base though, with it's easy-to-use selfie screen for solo visitors. I rounded the day at the beach area where a wedding was held at the Marizon island.

I didn't linger long at Canal City as it was just a typical shopping mall to me with its rather complicated layout. I was quite thankful that I did not choose to stay over here eventually.

Fukuoka have rather limited tourist sites in my opinion but since it's one of the major gateways in southern Japan, it made sense to fly in here before embarking to other interesting sites in Kyushu like Mojiko, Kagoshima and Nagasaki from here. I'm so glad that I did and had a good time before the winter season.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.347s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 86; dbt: 0.2512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb